The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
5137 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-6660; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: May 30, 2002

UI medical chairs, professorships, student communities acknowledged

The University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine held a reception May 14 to honor four endowed professorships and chairs to which professors have been named over the past academic year. The event also acknowledged two recently established professorships to which appointments will be made and the creation of four named student communities. All the professorships and chairs were established by private gifts made to the UI Foundation.

Two of the academic appointments were just announced on May 14: Douglas Behrendt, M.D., UI professor of surgery, was named to the Johann L. Ehrenhaft Professorship in Cardiothoracic Surgery, and Arthur Hartz, M.D., Ph.D., UI professor of family medicine, was named to the Quality in Family Medicine Professorship.

            •  Behrendt joined the UI faculty in 1986 as chair of the division of cardiothoracic surgery in the department of surgery. Since 1992 he has served as director of the Perfusionist Training Program for UI Hospitals and Clinics. His research areas include transplantation and congenital heart disease. The Ehrenhaft professorship was established by Ehrenhaft's friends, colleagues and former trainees to honor his years of service and leadership as the former chair of cardiothoracic surgery.

            •  Hartz, a UI faculty member since 1997, is research director for the department of family medicine. His research focuses on the validity of observational studies, standards of care related to medical malpractice, quality assessment and the peer review process. He also studies fatigue and other unexplained symptoms. The Quality in Family Medicine Professorship was initially established by a gift from Alice Keen in memory of her husband, Al Keen, to promote quality care in family medicine at the UI.

The two other appointments celebrated at the event were made earlier in the academic year:

            •  John Callaghan, M.D., UI professor of orthopaedic surgery, was appointed to the Dr. Lawrence and Marilyn Dorr Endowed Chair in Hip Reconstruction and Research last August. Callaghan's research focus is on total joint replacement. The endowed chair was established with
a gift made by Lawrence Dorr and Marilyn Dorr of La Canada – Flintridge, Calif. Lawrence Dorr, a native Iowan, received his medical degree from the UI in 1967. He is now senior surgeon at the Bone and Joint Institute in Los Angeles. Marilyn Dorr, who is a successful businesswoman in Pasadena, also attended the UI.

            •  Ronald Keech, M.D., UI professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences, was named to the William E. Scott Education Chair for Education in Pediatric Ophthalmology in March. The chair was created in 2001 to honor William Scott, M.D., UI professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences, for his dedication in combining clinical care and education with research. Through his appointment to the chair, Keech will strive to enhance and strengthen the training of fellows and the teaching of medical students and residents in pediatric ophthalmology, a relatively underserved area of ophthalmology.

The May 14 celebration also marked the creation of two professorships this academic year to which appointments will be made at a later date:

            •  The James A. Clifton Professorship honors James Clifton, M.D., the Roy J. Carver Professor Emeritus in the Department of Internal Medicine, by providing support for a gastroenterology researcher at the UI. Clifton joined the UI faculty in 1953 as chief of the division of gastroenterology and served in that position until 1971. He became a full professor in 1963 and also was head of internal medicine from 1970 to 1976. Clifton became an emeritus professor in 1990 but returned in 1991 to the active faculty to serve for two years as interim dean of the college. The professorship was established in 2001 with funds from the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust.

            • The Nicholas P. Rossi Professorship in Cardiothoracic Surgery reflects the contributions of Nicholas Rossi, M.D., professor emeritus of surgery, who joined the UI faculty in 1960 as an instructor and became an assistant professor in 1964. He became an associate professor in 1967 and professor in 1972. He also served in the late 1990s as chief of thoracic surgery at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Iowa City. Rossi's research interests include clinical cardiovascular projects and thoracic oncology. He became a professor emeritus in 2000. The professorship in his name was established in part by friends and alumni of the cardiothoracic surgery program and in part by the Roy J. Carver Charitable Trust.

A faculty chair is the highest honor that the university bestows on outstanding faculty members. The dean of the college and the provost approve the use of endowment income to supplement the salary of the faculty member and/or to support the academic pursuits and endeavors of the chair. A named professorship recognizes distinguished faculty and provides an annual amount of funding in partial support of salary or teaching, research or scholarship expenses.

Last, the ceremony announced the names of four individuals who will be the namesakes of the new Student Learning Communities in the Sahai Medical Education Center in the new Medical Education and Biomedical Research Facility. The communities are designed to promote medical student education by bringing together students who are at different points in their medical education and by emphasizing connection, excellence, learning, leadership and service. The four physicians honored were William Bean, M.D., (Community C), Lois Boulware, M.D., (Community B); Rubin Flocks, M.D., (Community D); and Jennie McCowen, M.D., (Community A).

            •  William Bean came to the UI in 1948 to serve as head of the department of internal medicine. He was instrumental in the department's growth from 11 members in the late 1940s to 65 members by 1970. Bean also wrote hundreds of papers, editorials and book reviews and served as the editor of many medical journals. In addition, he was dedicated to medical education and stressed the value of applying humanistic principles in medical care.

            •  Lois Boulware was one of only six women to graduate from the UI medical class of 1937. She was assistant director of UI Student Health Services from 1938 until the early 1970s. Boulware also established the nation's first hospital patient advocacy program to facilitate physician-patient communication.

            • In 1934 Rubin Flocks became chief resident and instructor in urology at the UI. He became a professor in 1947 and served as chair of the department of urology from 1949 to 1974. Under Flocks' leadership, the department became known for excellent and prompt patient care. Flocks also pioneered bladder and prostate cancer therapies. An endowed chair was created in 1994 by the department with support from alumni, friends and others to honor Flocks.

            •  Jennie McCowen originally came to Iowa in 1864 to teach public school but a few years later began medical studies at the UI and earned her degree in 1876. Her first appointment was as an assistant physician at the then-named Hospital for the Insane in Mt. Pleasant. In 1880 McCowen began a private practice in Davenport and became a distinguished leader in different medical societies. She also promoted children's interest in science.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at