The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
Joint Office for Planning, Marketing and Communications
8788 John Pappajohn Pavilion
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 356-7123

Release: May 29, 2002

Iowa Chapter wins national award for program on diversity

Two University of Iowa Health Care physicians played key roles in an Iowa organization's receipt of a national award for achievements in community service, communication, careers in internal medicine, and member recruitment.

John Fieselmann, M.D., UI professor (clinical) of internal medicine, and Barbara Muller, M.D., UI associate professor (clinical) of internal medicine, are leaders in the Iowa Chapter of the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine (ACP-ASIM), which received the national organization's 2002 Evergreen Award. Fieselmann serves as governor of the Iowa Chapter, while Muller chairs the chapter committee responsible for winning the award.

The Iowa Chapter was cited for its initiation of a diversity committee to recognize multicultural, racial and gender differences among rural and community physicians in the state. The committee, which has grown to 16 members since its inception in 1996, provides educational programs for local physicians to address specific diversity issues relevant to their health care practices.

In addition, the ACP-ASIM presented Fieselmann with a 2002 Recognition Award for his vital role in grassroots advocacy for health policy issues, based on the number and quality of contacts with legislators on issues of importance to the College and health policy in general.

ACP-ASIM is the nation's largest medical specialty society.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at