The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024
UI Alumni Association
(319) 335-3294

Release: May 21, 2002

UI Alumni Association presents 2002 Distinguished Alumni Awards June 8

The University of Iowa Alumni Association will recognize the achievements of 12 notable UI alumni at the 2002 Distinguished Alumni Awards presentation at noon Saturday, June 8 in the Main Lounge of the Iowa Memorial Union.

The public is invited to the luncheon and awards presentation, which is part of the Alumni Reunion Weekend June 6-9. Tickets are $22 per person and can be purchased by calling the UI Alumni Association at (319) 335-3294 or (800) 469-2586.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards are the highest honor presented by the UI Alumni Association, given annually since 1963 to recognize the achievements and service of UI alumni and friends. This year's awards are given in three categories: Achievement, Service, and Young Alumni.

The Distinguished Alumni Award for Achievement is given for significant accomplishments in business or professional life or for distinguished human service. The recipients are:

-- Richard R. Albrecht, 1958 B.A., 1961 J.D. The Hartley, Iowa, native has had a distinguished legal career, led a large global corporation, and volunteered his efforts in higher education and health care. Now a partner in one of the Pacific Northwest's largest law firms, his accomplishments include serving as general counsel of the United States Department of the Treasury and a 22-year career at Boeing.

-- Martin G. Carver, 1970 B.A. As chairman of the board, chief executive officer, and president of Bandag, Inc. Carver has been the driving force behind the company, a leader in developing technology, equipment, and materials for tire retreading. In addition to several community involvements in the Quad Cities and Muscatine, Carver also supports UI athletics and Hancher Auditorium, and is a member of the Board of Visitors of the Henry B. Tippie College of Business.

-- Thomas C. Dolan, 1977 Ph.D. As the president and chief executive officer of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE), a professional association of healthcare executives comprising nearly 30,000 members, Dolan actively promotes the value of board certification in healthcare management. This Chicago native began his career at the UI, serving from

1970 to 1972 as a research assistant and instructor in the graduate program in Hospital and Health Administration.

-- Judith B. Igoe, 1961, B.S.N. A tenured faculty member of the University of Colorado School of Nursing, Igoe is nationally recognized for her leadership in developing innovative programs to support and make a difference in the quality of children's health and education. With innovative ideas and interdisciplinary approaches, she has helped transform policy development for school health programs, shaping them to meet the wellness needs of school-age children and the educational needs of school nurses.

-- Gwilym S. Lodwick, 1942 B.A., 1943 M.D., 1950 Certificate of Radiology. Nominated for a Nobel Prize for his pioneering work in the field of radiological imaging and informatics, Gwilym S. Lodwick, is professor emeritus in the University of Missouri School of Medicine's Department of Radiology and a senior member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences.

-- Fred Luthans, 1961 B.A., 1962 M.B.A., 1965 Ph.D. A ground-breaking author and editor of numerous books and scholarly journals, Fred Luthans has been a leader in the field of management education. Luthans served for 22 years as the consulting editor for all McGraw-Hill management publications, and he has just completed his 30th year at the University of Nebraska, where he is the George Holmes Distinguished Professor of Management.

The Distinguished Alumni Award for Service is given for meritorious service in community affairs or to the UI. The recipients are:

-- C.F. "Larry" Barrett, 1944, D.D.S. A long-time advocate of the UI College of Dentistry, C.F. "Larry" Barrett has contributed exemplary service to his profession, university, and community. For more than 50 years, Barrett maintained an active practice, serving thousands of patients. As an adjunct assistant professor at the College of Dentistry, and as a participator in the College's preceptorship program, Barrett has also inspired and encouraged numerous dental students.

-- Jerome R. Feniger, Jr., 1948 B.A. Considered a pioneer in the broadcasting advertising industry, Jerome R. Feniger's many roles within that industry include president of Horizons Communications Corporation, managing director of the Stations Representatives Association, and president of the International Radio and Television Society. Feniger, a UI alumnus, has helped advance the careers of many UI students.

-- Roy G. Karro, 1942 B.A. Karro began his support of the UI more than four decades ago, and it continues uninterrupted to this day. Work is currently under way on the UI Hall of Fame and

Visitors Center, which will bear Karro's name in recognition of his $3 million donation, the largest single contribution ever made in support of UI intercollegiate athletics-to the project.

-- Joseph B. Summers, 1948 B.S.C.E. An acclaimed international expert in major irrigation and water management issues, Joseph B. Summers has helped transform California's Imperial Valley from desert to the nation's largest "garden." An active supporter of UI College of Engineering, he is a member of the its Advisory Board and was named Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy for his achievements:

The Distinguished Alumni Award/Young Alumni awards are given for significant accomplishments in business or professional life or for distinguished human service. The Young Alumni recipients are:

-- Kelly J. Hayworth, 1983 B.B.A., 1985 M.B.A. As Coralville's City Administrator since 1988, Hayworth has spearheaded several major economic development projects, such as the Coral Ridge Mall, and the Town Center retail and business area. He has also helped expand the city’s infrastructure, including the wastewater treatment and water facilities. Under Hayworth’s direction, Coralville has earned two Iowa League of Cities All Star Community Awards.

-- Sheba R. Wheeler, 1996 B.A. Just five years after graduating from the University of Iowa, Sheba R. Wheeler has earned an impressive record as a dedicated and skilled journalist. A reporter for the Denver Post, Wheeler covered the Columbine High School tragedy, for which the paper's staff collectively won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for spot reporting. She has worked with UI students as a professional-in-residence, and is a member of the UI School of Journalism and Mass Communications' professional advisory board.

For background and a list of previous winners of the Distinguished Alumni Awards, see