The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0007; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: May 6, 2002

Local student initiated into UI Phi Beta Kappa

(Student name) of (hometown) was one of 54 University of Iowa students inducted this spring into the Alpha of Iowa chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the national scholarly fraternity that initiates college seniors and juniors based primarily on academic achievement. (Student name) is a (year) major in the (department(s)) at the UI.

An induction ceremony and reception was held April 28 in the Richey Ballroom of the Iowa Memorial Union. Gary Gerlach, president of New West Newspapers Inc., spoke at the initiation. Gerlach is also a UI alumnus and member of Alpha of Iowa chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

The newly inducted students were selected based on the honor society's minimum requirements, which include a minimum 3.8 GPA and the completion of at least 100 semester hours and the UI's four-year proficiency in a single language. Phi Beta Kappa is academe's oldest Greek letter fraternity. Nationally, only 10 percent of college students are inducted.

EDITORS: Receipt of this release indicates that a student from your readership area is a spring 2002 inductee to the University of Iowa chapter of the national Phi Beta Kappa honor society. Students are listed alphabetically by hometown with their year and major(s); students whose hometown is in Iowa are listed first.


ADEL: Amanda Kristine Laust – Biology (junior)
BURLINGTON: Brian David Metzger – Physics and Astronomy (senior)
CEDAR RAPIDS: Emily Jenell Coleman – Literature, Science & The Arts and English (senior); Rachel Elizabeth Jenkins – Biology (senior); Anne Kristin Warrington – Psychology (junior)
CENTERVILLE: Katherine Elizabeth Barnett – Psychology and Theatre Arts (junior)
CLINTON: Anne Marie Jennings – English and Anthropology (senior)
CLIVE: Eric Allen Harlan – Exercise Science (junior)
COUNCIL BLUFFS: Michael Patrick Bauerly – Industrial Engineering and Art (senior)
CRESCO: Nana Marie Diederichs – Cinema & Comparative Literature (junior)
DALLAS CENTER: Ryan Lee Holdsworth – Biology and Psychology (junior)
DES MOINES: Justin Ryan Leitch – Exercise Science (senior); Nicole Kathleen Thompson – History and Medieval Studies Certificate (senior)
DUBUQUE: Benjamin Robert Beecher – Exercise Science (senior); Joshua Edward Everts – Chemistry (senior)
ELKADER: Enid Dawn Wright – Music and Biology (senior)
FARLEY: Joseph Eugene Heitz – Music and Journalism & Mass Communication (senior)
HARLAN: Adam Olin Pash – Interdepartmental Studies (senior)
HARTLEY: Rachel Ann Hoftyzer – Chemistry (junior)
INDIANOLA: Benjamin John Naylor – Political Science (senior)
IONIA: Renee Katherine Voves – Exercise Science (senior)
IOWA CITY: Katherine Lynn Foreman – Geography (senior); Joshua Taylor Jordan – English and Linguistics (senior); David Thomas Rogers – Elementary Education and Spanish (junior)
IOWA FALLS: Michael Indrajit Dhar – Biology and English (senior)
LAKE MILLS: Ann Elizabeth Boeka – Speech & Hearing Science (senior)
LULING: Michelle Marie Martel – Psychology and Literature, Science & The Arts (senior)
MERRILL: Jamie Lei Kovarna – Russian and History (junior)
MUSCATINE: Melanie Jean Burns – Global Studies and Journalism & Mass Communication (senior)
PARKERSBURG: Jamie Lynn Hansmann – Social Work (senior)
PERRY: Benjamin James Irwin – Art and Art History (senior)
PORTSMOUTH: Katherine Sue Leinen – Biology (senior); Sarah Ann Leinen – Biology (senior)
OSAGE: Jennifer Marie Voaklander – Psychology (senior)
SUMNER: Melissa Meagan Mueller – Speech & Hearing Science (junior)
SWISHER: Katie Marie Stein – Microbiology (senior)
URBANDALE: Brian Michael Koch – Communication Studies (junior); Nathaniel Jonathan Nelms – Applied Physics (senior)
WATERLOO: Timothy Charles Block – Communication Studies and Journalism & Mass Communication (junior); Nathan Mikael Harmon – Biology (junior)
WEST BRANCH: Kara Sedore – Social Work (senior)
WEST DES MOINES: Jennie Anne Loffredo – Elementary Education (senior)


EAST MOLINE: Katherine Anne McNinch – Journalism & Mass Communication and Communication Studies (senior)
HIGHLAND PARK: Ellen Degen – Biology (senior)
MORTON: Kelley Gene Crawford – English and Secondary Education (junior)
PEORIA: Daniel Eric Weinstein – Music (senior)


BELLEVUE: Molly A. Medakovich – Art History and French (senior)
LAVISTA: Rachel Diane Paper – Music (senior)
LINCOLN: Kathryn Lohry Swisher – Exercise Science (senior)


ADA: Emily Marie Olson – Psychology and Sociology (junior)


APPLETON: David Edward Ludden – Biology (senior)
GREENFIELD: Alyson Lea Jahnke – Exercise Science (junior)
OCONOMOWOC: Conor Patrick Moran – English and French (senior)


CHANGCHUN: Wei Jiang – Computer Science and Mathematics (senior)