The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
5139 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8032; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: March 19, 2002

UI dental students, researchers earn awards at AADR

Students, faculty and staff from the University of Iowa College of Dentistry received multiple awards at a recent meeting of dental researchers from around the world.

The American Association for Dental Research/International Association for Dental Research (AADR/IADR) general session met March 6-9 in San Diego, Calif. The UI College of Dentistry — long recognized for the strength of its student research program — was honored for presenting the largest number of student projects at the meeting.

Fourth-year student Matthew Abraham of Oxford, Iowa, won the 2002 IADR/Unilever Hatton Awards Competition for Junior Investigators, competing against student researchers from the United States, Europe, China, South America, Japan, Mexico, Australia and Africa. Abraham's project was selected last fall in a national competition that sent 27 semi-finalists to March's AADR meeting. Of those, nine went on to the international competition, where Abraham placed first.

Abraham's mentor, Galen Schneider, also won the prestigious award while earning his doctorate at the University of North Carolina in 1996. The last time a UI College of Dentistry student won the award was 1982.

Second-year UI dental students Michael Allen of Clackamas, Ore.; Patricia Boyd of Rhinelander, Wis.; Michael Franzman of Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and Daniel Norris or Provo, Utah, were awarded fellowships for their research poster presentations. Each fellowship includes a $2,100 stipend and a $300 award for supplies to students' research mentors. Recipients also receive $600 in travel funds so they can present their completed projects at a future AADR meeting.

A poster presentation by third-year dental student Matthew Clegg of Farmington, Utah, received the 2002 IADR Implant Research Group Young Investigator Award. Clegg's faculty mentor for the project is Galen Schneider, D.D.S., assistant professor of prosthodontics.

Eric Rossow, a second-year dental student from Spirit Lake, Iowa, won the Morita Junior Investigator Award for a presentation on caring for adult patients with special needs. Catherine Watkins, D.D.S., assistant professor of preventive and community dentistry, is Rossow's faculty mentor.

In addition to the student awards, Sharon Seydel, a researcher in the college's Dows Institute for Dental Research, was one of two recipients of the AADR Educational Research Group Award for her poster presentation on student research training programs.