The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


To: Board of Regents

From: Board Office

Subject: University of Iowa Search and Screen Advisory Committee Appointments and Selection of Executive Search Firm

Date: July 16, 2002

Recommended Actions:

  1. Approve the appointment of members to the SUI Presidential Search and Screen Advisory Committee.
  2. Receive the report on the selection of an executive search firm.

Executive Summary:
Approved Policies and Procedures Last Month
Last month the Board of Regents accepted the resignation of Mary Sue Coleman as President of the University of Iowa, effective August 1, 2002, and approved policies and procedures for the selection of the next President of the University of Iowa, consistent with the Board’s “Policy on the Selection of Institutional Heads.” These policies and procedures include the following:

  • Creation of a Presidential Search and Screen Advisory Committee:
  • Appointment of Jonathon Carlson as Chair of the Committee;
  • Approval of a procedure for the selection of members of the Committee;
  • Authorization of the Executive Director, with the approval of the Board President, to contract with an executive search firm;
  • Creation of a fund at the University of Iowa for carrying out the search; and
  • Authorization of the Board President to supervise the search process.

This process was approved by the Board with the provision that the process shall provide for confidentiality of the candidates to the fullest extent possible under the Iowa Code.

Recommendations for Committee Membership

At the June 2002 Board Meeting, the Board of Regents instructed the Chair of the Search and Screen Advisory Committee, Jonathon Carlson, and the President of the University of Iowa Faculty Senate, Jeffrey Cox, to jointly nominate members of the Presidential Search and Screen Advisory Committee in consultation with the Board President, based on a general listing of membership approved by the Board. This activity has been concluded and the following membership is proposed for Board approval:

SUI Faculty (10)

  1. Jonathan Carlson, chair, Professor, College of Law
  2. Elizabeth Altmeier, Professor, Department of Counseling Psychology, College of Education
  3. Ana Diaz-Arnold, Associate Professor, Department of Family Dentistry, College of Dentistry
  4. Donald Heistad, Professor, Departments of Internal Medicine and Pharmacology, College of Medicine
  5. Philip Kutzko, Professor, Department of Mathematics, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  6. Adalaide (Dee) Morris, Professor, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  7. Jay Sa-Adu, Professor and Chair, Finance Department, College of Business
  8. Jerald Schnoor, Professor, Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering
  9. Jeanne Snyder, Professor, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology, College of Medicine
  10. James Torner, Professor and Head, Department of Epidemiology, College of Public Health
    One Dean (1) 1. Melanie Dreher, Dean and Professor, College of Nursing

SUI Staff (3)

  1. Cheryl Carter, Nurse Epidemiologist, Program of Hospital Epidemiology, UIHC
  2. Joe Marron, Merit staff, Central Custodial
  3. J. David Martin, Head, Marvin A. Pomerantz Business Library

SUI Students (3)

  1. Marcia Hay-McCutcheon, Ph.D. candidate, Department of Speech Pathology & Audiology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  2. Sangina (Gina) Patnaik, undergraduate Honors student, Department of English, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  3. Francisco Sanchez, Ph.D. candidate, Department of Counseling Psychology, College of Education

SUI Alumni (2)

  1. Thomas Gelman, President, UI Alumni Association
  2. Carroll Reasoner, Chairman, University of Iowa Foundation

Board President Appointments (4)
At the June Board meeting, the Board members approved the appointment of up to three additional representatives to be selected to serve on the Committee by the President of the Board of Regents. However, approval is requested of the following four appointments:

  1. Soura Dasgupta, Professor, Electrical-Computer Engineering, College of Engineering
  2. Maureen Donovan, Associate Professor, Pharmaceutics, College of Pharmacy
  3. Salome Raheim, Associate Professor and Director, School of Social Work, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
  4. M. Beth Ingram, Professor of Economics and Director, Economic Research Institute, College of Business

Board of Regents,
Board Office (2)
The Executive Director and the Deputy Executive Director of the Board of Regents, Board Office shall serve ex officio (without vote):

  1. Gregory S. Nichols, Executive Director
  2. Robert J. Barak, Deputy Executive Director

All of the suggested individuals have indicated their willingness and ability to serve if appointed by the Board of Regents.Selection of Executive Search Firm

In June 2002 the Board also approved a procedure whereby the President of the Board would select an executive search firm and the Executive Director would enter into a contract with the search firm. Interviews were held with three search firms. On the basis of these interviews and information provided by the firms, Korn/Ferry International has been selected to assist the Board in this search. This is the same firm that assisted with the most recent Iowa State University presidential search. Mr. William Funk will be the representative from Korn/Ferry that will be assisting the Board and the Search Committee.