The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Levitt Center for University Advancement
(319) 335-3275
(800) IOW-ALUM

Release: July 11, 2002

New members, officers elected to UIAA Board of Directors

New leadership will bring fresh perspective and expertise to the University of Iowa Alumni Association’s (UIAA) Board of Directors in 2002-03.

During a spring teleconference, a nominating committee selected candidates to serve as the board’s new officers and members. On June 1, the nominations were approved. Association officers for 2002-2003 are:

-Eva Dahl, of Onalaska, Wisc., chair. Dahl, who represents the College of Dentistry, has several degrees from the University of Iowa. She received her bachelor's degree from the UI in 1973; a doctor of dental surgery in 1976; a master's degree in education in 1979; and a master of science in oral pathology and her Endodontics Specialization Certificate in 1982. Dahl, an adjunct professor in the department of oral pathology, was first elected to the board in 1997.

-Peter Jeffries, of McLean, Va., chair-elect. Jeffries earned his bachelor of science in journalism and mass communication from the UI in 1986. Currently director of communications for Rep. Dennis Hastert, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Jeffries also was first elected to the board in 1997. He is active with the Capital Area Iowa Club and the Big Ten Council in Washington, D.C. Jeffries is an at-large representative on the board.

-Jan Rigotti, of Marion, secretary. Rigotti joined the UIAA staff in April as an executive assistant. Prior to joining the UIAA, she worked six years at McLeodUSA, originally hired as an executive assistant to the chief financial officer but serving her last two years as an investor relations/corporate communications associate.

-Chris Bavolack, Iowa City, treasurer. Bavolack earned his master of business administration degree from the UI in 1997. He is the associate executive director overseeing finance, marketing, and operations for the UIAA. Bavolack’s responsibilities include preparing and monitoring the association budget, facilitating strategic planning efforts, overseeing general operations and administration of the accounting system, and assisting in planning membership and marketing efforts.

-Tom Gelman, Iowa City, past-chair. Gelman, a partner in the Iowa City law firm Phelan, Tucker, Mullen, Bright & Walker, received his undergraduate degree from Harvard University in 1975 and his juris doctorate from the UI in 1978. Gelman is an at-large board representative.

Three new members will join the board:

-Thomas Lowenberg, Pine Springs, Minn., representing the College of Engineering. Lowenberg is retired director of facilities engineering and real estate for the Engineering Quality and Manufacturing Services organization of the 3M Company in Saint Paul. He earned a bachelor of science degree in civil engineering in 1962 and a master of science in 1963 from the UI. Lowenberg has worked in a variety of management positions at 3M, serving as a liaison between the company and the UI College of Engineering for many years. He is a former member of the College of Engineering Advisory Board, and he currently serves on the college’s building campaign steering committee.

-Kathleen Dore, New York, N.Y., at-large representative. Dore is president of The Bravo Networks and responsible for the consolidated operation of six businesses under the company’s umbrella, including Bravo, The Independent Film Channel, and Bravo International. Among her accomplishments in this role, Dore continued the expansion of the popular cable network by developing original specials and series such as "Inside the Actors Studio" and managing strong growth of The Independent Film Channel. She earned a bachelor's dehree in 1972 and a master's of business administration degree in 1984 from the UI. From 1977 to 1981, Dore was associate director of the UIAA. She is a member of the Board of Visitors for the UI Tippie College of Business.

-Jeffrey Kueter, Alexandria, Va., at-large representative. As director of research for the National Coalition for Advanced Manufacturing, Kueter is responsible for designing and executing research and public policy education and outreach strategies. He earned his bachelor's degree in political science from the UI in 1993 and both his master's degree in 1995 and doctorate in 2002 from George Washington University. He has held positions as a research analyst and director of policy research for several other companies in his career. Kueter has been president of the Capital Area Iowa Club since 1999.

Four board members who completed their first three-year term have agreed to serve a second term. They are:

-Rosalyn Beecham-Green, Chicago, Ill., representing the College of Liberal Arts. Beecham-Green graduated with three degrees from the UI: a bachelor's degree in 1974, a master's degree in social work in 1975, and a doctorate in 1982. She is associate provost and executive director of the Urban Health Program at the University of Illinois, Chicago.

-Elaine Greene-McCone, Greensboro, N.C., at-large representative. Greene-McCone earned her master of business administration degree in 1993 and her juris doctorate the following year from the UI. She is a teacher at the Guilford County Schools in Greensboro.

-Ted Habte-Gabr, Los Angeles, Calif., at-large representative. Habte-Gabr graduated from the UI in 1989 with a bachelor's degree in engineering. Leader of the Los Angeles Iowa Club, Habte-Gabr recently earned the UIAA, a prestigious Seal of Excellence from the national Council for Advancement and Support of Education. The award recognizes the Los Angeles premiere of "The Nazi Drawings" — an acclaimed documentary based on the work of UI emeritus professor Mauricio Lasansky — that Habte-Gabr organized.

-Robert Shreck, Des Moines, representing the College of Medicine. Shreck, founder and senior member of Medical Oncology and Hematology Associates in Des Moines, earned his bachelor's degree in 1971 and his medical degree in 1974 from the UI.