The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


5143 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8033; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: Jan. 8, 2002

Search Committee Formed For UI College Of Medicine Dean Position

A 22-person search committee has been formed to find a new dean for the University of Iowa College of Medicine. The current dean, Robert P. Kelch, M.D., will step down from the position when the search for his successor is completed.

Kelch also is vice president for statewide health services. His duties as vice president have been expanded recently, which led to his decision to step down as dean. The new dean will report to Vice President Kelch.

François M. Abboud, M.D., the Edith King Pearson Professor of Cardiovascular Research and former head of the UI department of internal medicine, will serve as chair of the committee. Kathleen Buckwalter, Ph.D., UI associate provost for health sciences, will serve as vice-chair.

Abboud, who became head of the UI department of internal medicine in 1976, stepped down from that position on Jan. 1. On that date, he became interim associate vice president for statewide health services. He continues as director of the UI Cardiovascular Research Center. He also is a professor of internal medicine and a professor of physiology and biophysics.

In addition to Abboud and Buckwalter, UI students, faculty and staff serving on the search committee include:

-- Michael Apicella, M.D., professor and head of microbiology;

-- Carl Bendorf, assistant vice president for health sciences, UI Foundation;

-- Willard L. Boyd, S.J.D., professor of law;

-- Keith Carter, M.D., professor of ophthalmology and visual sciences;

-- Charles R. Clark, M.D., professor of orthopaedic surgery;

-- Deborah DeWaay, medical student;

-- Melanie Dreher, R.N., Ph.D., dean, College of Nursing;

-- Pamela Geyer, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry;

-- David Griffiths, student, physical therapy;

-- Mary J.C. Hendrix, Ph.D., the Kate Daum Professor and head of anatomy and cell biology;

-- Sarah Holstein, student, Medical Scientist Training Program;

-- Cynda Johnson, M.D., professor and head of family medicine;

-- Steven Lillehaug, M.D., associate professor of anesthesia;

-- Frank H. Morriss, Jr., M.D., professor and head of pediatrics and vice chair of management committee;

-- Peggy Nopoulos, M.D., associate professor of psychiatry;

-- Craig C. Porter, M.D., associate professor of clinical pediatrics;

-- Carol Senneff, director, internal audit;

-- Barbara Spence, departmental administrator, microbiology;

-- John Staley, Ph.D., associate director and COO, hospital administration;

-- Michael Welsh, M.D., the Roy J. Carver Professor of Internal Medicine, and professor of physiology and biophysics.

Sally Knipfer, administrative assistant in the UI College of Medicine, will provide staff support to the committee.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI College of Medicine and the UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at