The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
101 Jessup Hall
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-0552; fax (319) 335-0558

Release: Dec. 21, 2002



Herman Ray Skorton Williams
Click on a photo for a high-resolution version of the image.

Related Resource

UI presidential search committee forwards six names to Board of Regents, State of Iowa

The University of Iowa Presidential Search and Screen Advisory Committee on Saturday, Dec. 21, announced that the names of six candidates for UI president will be forwarded to the Board of Regents, State of Iowa. Detailed recommendations are being prepared by the search committee and will be submitted to the Regents prior to the board members' meetings with the candidates.

The search committee had been charged with forwarding the names of at least four finalists for the position of UI president. Under the guidelines adopted by the Regents, the search committee did not rank the candidates. The finalists to be forwarded to the Regents are:

  • Gretchen M. Bataille, senior vice president for academic affairs at the University of North Carolina;
  • Rodney A. Erickson, executive vice president and provost of The Pennsylvania State University;
  • Richard H. Herman, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign;
  • Edward J. Ray, executive vice president and provost of The Ohio State University;
  • David J. Skorton, University of Iowa vice president for research and external relations;
  • Gregory H. Williams, president of The City College of New York and a former University of Iowa law professor and administrator.

The Board of Regents, which is the governing body for Iowa's three state universities and two special schools, will make the final decision on the appointment of a president to succeed Mary Sue Coleman, who left the UI in August to become president of the University of Michigan. In the meantime, Willard L. "Sandy" Boyd is serving as interim president. Boyd is a UI law professor and former UI president.