The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Aug. 29, 2002

UI names statistics and actuarial sciences scholarship winners

(Student name) of (hometown), a (year in school) in the University of Iowa College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, has been named the winner of (dollar amount) (scholarship name) for the (award duration) by the department of statistics and actuarial science.

The awards are given on the basis of merit.

EDITOR: Scholarship winners are listed alphabetically by hometown.


AFTON: Christopher Brett Lockard, Afton, junior in statistics and economics, $500, Department Scholarship, fall 2002 semester.

CEDAR RAPIDS: Marissa Doudna, Cedar Rapids, junior in actuarial science and mathematics, $3,000, AmerUs Scholarship, 2002-3 academic year.

WAVERLY: Derek Scallon,, Waverly, sophomore in actuarial science, $750, Charles E. and
Eleanore G. Wilson Scholarship, fall 2002 semester.