The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


5137 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-6660; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: April 30, 2002

(Photo: Left, Greenberg; Right, Andreasen)

Andreasen, Greenberg elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Two University of Iowa researchers have each been named a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Nancy C. Andreasen, M.D., Ph.D., the Andrew H. Woods Chair of Psychiatry and director of the UI Mental Health Clinical Research Center, and E. Peter Greenberg, Ph.D., the Virgil L. and Evalyn Shepperd Professor of Molecular Pathogenesis and UI professor of microbiology, were among the 177 distinguished scholars and intellectuals selected as Fellows this year by the academy, one of the nation's most prominent learned societies and research institutions.

Andreasen, a leading researcher and expert in schizophrenia, was elected into the Neurosciences, Cognitive Sciences and Behavioral Biology section of the Biological Sciences. In 1997 Andreasen created a new model of schizophrenia based on years of research and pioneering neuroimaging data. Andreasen received the National Medal of Science in 2000 for her research on mental illness. She is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and has twice been elected to serve on its governing council. Andreasen also is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Greenberg, internationally known for his research on bacterial cell-to-cell signaling, was elected into the Cellular and Developmental Biology, Microbiology and Immunology (including Genetics) section of the Biological Sciences. His research has advanced understanding of how bacteria organize into biofilms, communities of cells encased in a self-produced slime. Biofilms are extremely resistant to antibiotics. Greenberg also is an elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

"I am thrilled by the naming of Professors Andreasen and Greenberg as Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. This is one of the highest honors achievable, and it is well-deserved for Nancy and Peter, whose careers are marked by brilliance and innovation in their fields," said Mary Sue Coleman, UI president, who was elected as an academy fellow last year.

"I am also enormously proud that the UI continues to be a strong source of academy fellows. We clearly are blessed with a faculty of national and international distinction," she added.

Other previously elected UI Fellows include four from the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine, four from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, and one from the College of Law: Francois Abboud, internal medicine; Willard Boyd, law and President Emeritus; Antonio Damasio, neurology; Hanna Damasio, neurology; June Helm, anthropology; Linda Kerber, history; James McPherson, creative writing; James Van Allen, physics and astronomy; and Michael J. Welsh, internal medicine, physiology and biophysics. Former UI President Hunter Rawlings was elected to the Academy in 1995, just before leaving the campus to serve as president of Cornell University.

In addition to honoring the biological sciences, the academy includes sections on mathematics and physics; social sciences; humanities and arts; and public affairs and business. The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was founded in 1780 by John Adams and other scholar-patriots to support projects in the arts and sciences and honor those with intellectual, leadership and creative accomplishments in many fields. In addition to electing Fellows, the academy also elects Foreign Honorary Members, 30 of whom were elected this year.

Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members will be welcomed into the academy at an induction ceremony to be held Oct. 5 at the academy headquarters in Cambridge, Mass. A complete list of this year's new members is available online at


University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine and UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at