The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Sept. 27, 2001

UI Catalyst Award reception recognizes campus diversity initiatives Oct. 4

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa Office of Affirmative Action invites the campus and community to the third annual Catalyst Award reception from 4 p.m. to 5:30 p.m., Thursday, Oct. 4 in the North Room, Iowa Memorial Union. The Catalyst Award recognizes individuals and UI departments that have demonstrated excellence in campus diversity initiatives.

The reception will honor Eugene Madison and Akwasi Agyeman Boateng, co-recipients of the Catalyst Award given for individual excellence. The departmental/unit excellence award will be given to the UI department of theatre.

Madison, a professor in the department of mathematics, was selected because of his numerous contributions towards the goal of a racially and ethnically inclusive campus community.

Boateng, a supervisor in Food and Nutrition Services at the UI Hospitals and Clinics, was selected for his tireless dedication to fostering an inclusive and diverse workplace.

The department of theatre arts was chosen because of its initiatives in faculty and student recruitment, as well as its selection of plays with diverse themes.

The Catalyst Award, which requires a nomination, is designed to recognize individuals and units on campus that have demonstrated excellence in meeting the following criteria:

-- The nominee has developed an innovative program, policy or activity to enhance the diversity within the UI; or

-- The nominee's contributions are distinctive and have had a positive effect on building respect for diversity within the UI community.

The 2001 Catalyst Award recipients were selected by a six-person selection committee made up of persons from various UI departments. For more information, contact the Office of Affirmative Action at (319) 335-0705 (voice) or (319) 335-0697 (text).