The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Sept. 19, 2001

University Convocation scheduled for Sept. 25

Awards for faculty and staff excellence in teaching, research and service will highlight the annual University Convocation at 7:30 p.m., Tuesday, Sept. 25 in Macbride Auditorium. The convocation will be followed by a reception in Iowa Hall, the UI Museum of Natural History.

The convocation also features an annual address by President Mary Sue Coleman. In this year's address, "Sustaining the Vision: The State, the University and the Public Trust," Coleman will offer some thoughts on the future of public higher education in Iowa and across the nation. She also will announce the recipient of the President's Award for Technology Innovation, which recognizes the most creative use of technology in teaching in the past year.

Amitava Bhattacharjee, president of UI Faculty Senate, will provide opening remarks. Pat Arkema, president of the UI Staff Council, will give the closing remarks.

Provost Jon Whitmore will present the faculty awards, assisted by the deans of the colleges and Bhattacharjee. Staff awards will be presented by Sue Buckley, interim associate vice president and director of human resources.

Awards include those for staff excellence, collegiate teaching, faculty scholarships, Regents Awards for Faculty Excellence and Staff Excellence, and the Michael J. Brody Awards for Faculty Excellence in Service.