The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


Alumni News
500 Levitt Center for University Advancement
Iowa City IA 52242
Phone: (319) 335-3275

Release: Sept. 7, 2001

UI Alumni Association Announces new volunteer board representatives

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa Alumni Association has elected a new chair and 15 representatives to its fiscal year 2001 board of directors.

Thomas Gelman of Iowa City takes over as the UIAA's new chair, replacing L.D. McMullen of Des Moines. The new chair-elect is Eva Dahl of Onalaska, Wis. Stephanie Whitlock of Coralville has been elected as secretary, and Chris Bavolack of Iowa City has been named treasurer.

Elected for a second time after completion of his three-year term, Dale Baker of Golden, Colo., will continue to represent the Henry B. Tippie College of Business on the UIAA's board. Two Alumni Association members will serve their first terms on the board as representatives of UI colleges: Mary Miller of New York, N.Y., for the College of Education; and Sue Joslyn of Iowa City, for the College of Public Health.

Eight other members have been elected as at-large representatives: Kevin Flatt of Chesterfield, Missouri; Ted Habte-Gabr of Los Angeles; H. Garland Hershey of Chapel Hill, N.C.; Maureen Lienau of Englewood, Colo.; Elaine Greene-McCone of Greensboro, N.C.; Robert Onnen of Boise, Idaho; David Ramirez, 78JD, of Denver, Colo.; and Robert L. Smith, Jr. of Waterloo.