The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
5118 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8964; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: Oct. 30, 2001

UI College of Nursing faculty earn recognition

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Several members of the University of Iowa College of Nursing faculty have received awards recently for their contributions to nursing, education and research.

Kathleen Buckwalter, Ph.D., professor and associate UI provost for health sciences, received the American Psychiatric Nurses Association's Excellence in Research Award. Buckwalter also received the National Gerontology Nurses Association's first-ever Board of Directors Award.

M. Patricia Donahue, Ph.D., professor and associate dean for academic affairs, received a distinguished alumni award recently from the Cleveland General and St. Luke's Hospital Alumni Association. She earned a diploma in nursing from the St. Luke's Hospital School of Nursing in Cleveland, Ohio.

Joann Eland, Ph.D., associate professor and director of student affairs for the college, was named to receive Sigma Theta Tau International's Audrey Hepburn Award for her international work to address children's pain. Eland will accept the award at the organization's biennial meeting Nov. 11 in Indianapolis.

Michelle Eliason, Ph.D., associate professor, is one of just 10 individuals nationwide named as fellows of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Reducing Substance Abuse Program.

Rose Marie Friedrich, associate professor of nursing, received a national award from the American Psychiatric Nurses Association for best treatment of schizophrenia in a community based program.

Also, Sigma Theta Tau International has bestowed its first-ever Melanie C. Dreher Outstanding Dean Award to Angela Barron McBride, dean of nursing at Indiana University. The award is named for Melanie Dreher, Ph.D., professor and dean of nursing at the UI, who served as president of Sigma Theta Tau from 1997 to 1999.