The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
5190 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-6835; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: Oct. 17, 2001

Wallace elected to prestigious Institute of Medicine

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Robert B. Wallace, M.D., professor of epidemiology in the University of Iowa College of Public Health, has been elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences.

Sixty new members were elected to the Institute of Medicine, raising its total active membership to 632. Current active members elect new members from among candidates chosen for their major contributions to health and medicine or to related fields such as social and behavioral sciences, law, administration and economics. IOM members serve without compensation and devote time as volunteers on committees engaged in a broad range of studies on health policy issues.

Wallace, who holds the Irene Ensminger Stecher Cancer Professorship, is well known for his research in the areas of aging, cardiovascular disease and breast cancer. He has received a number of national and international awards for his research and contributions to the field of epidemiology, including the Lilienfeld Award for Excellence in Teaching of Epidemiology from the American Public Health Association.

"Dr. Wallace's election to the Institute of Medicine is richly deserved," said James Merchant, M.D., Dr.P.H., dean of the College of Public Health. "He has provided outstanding leadership and contributions to preventive medicine and public health research, teaching, and policy over his 30-year career."

Wallace received his medical degree from Northwestern University in 1967 and has been a member of the faculty at the UI since 1972. He holds a secondary appointment in the UI College of Medicine department of internal medicine and currently serves as the interim director for the UI Center on Aging.

Wallace joins the following 15 UI faculty and administrators who are members of the IOM: Francois Abboud, M.D., the Edith King Pearson Professor and Head of Internal Medicine, and professor of physiology and biophysics; Myrtle Adelyotte, Ph.D., professor emeritus and former dean of the College of Nursing; Nancy Andreasen. M.D., Ph.D., the Andrew H. Woods Chair and professor of Psychiatry; Kathleen Buckwalter, Ph.D., associate provost for health sciences, professor of nursing, and professor of psychiatry and internal medicine; Kevin Campbell, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and UI Distinguished Professor and the Roy J. Carver Chair of Physiology and Biophysics, and professor of neurology; James Clifton, M.D., Roy J. Carver Professor Emeritus of Internal Medicine; Mary Sue Coleman, Ph.D. UI president, professor of biological sciences and biochemistry; John Colloton, UI vice president emeritus for statewide health services; Antonio Damasio, M.D., the Maurice Van Allen Professor and Head of Neurology; John Eckstein, M.D., professor emeritus of internal medicine and dean emeritus of the College of Medicine; Bruce Gantz, M.D., the Brian F. McCabe Distinguished Chair and Head of Otolaryngology -- Head and Neck Surgery; Robert Kelch, M.D., UI vice president for statewide health services, dean of the College of Medicine, professor of pediatrics and professor of health management and policy in the College of Public Health; James Merchant, M.D., Dr.P.H., dean of the College of Public Health, professor of occupational and environmental health and professor of internal medicine; Jennifer Niebyl, M.D., professor and head of obstetrics and gynecology; and Michael Welsh, M.D., the Roy J. Carver Chair of Internal Medicine and Physiology and Biophysics.