The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Nov. 27, 2001

Daily Iowan again named one of the best college newspapers in country

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The Daily Iowan, the student newspaper at the University of Iowa, has been named one of the top college newspapers in the country for the second year in a row, winning a Pacemaker Award for the 2000-01 academic year. Student editors traveled to New Orleans in October to receive the award from the Associated Collegiate Press, a division of the National Scholastic Press Association.

The Pacemaker is the highest award conferred by the association and is considered by some to be the "Pulitzer Prize of college journalism." The Daily Iowan was one of six newspapers in the four-year university daily broadsheet category to receive the award. More than 160 newspapers were competing in this category. Last fall, the paper received a Pacemaker Award for the 1999-2000 academic year.

Working journalists serve as judges and select Pacemakers based on the following: coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership on the opinion page, evidence of in-depth reporting, design, photography, art and graphics.

The editor of the 2000-01 Daily Iowan was Cori Zarek, from Carter Lake, Iowa, who graduated in May 2001 and is working at The Law Offices of Donald T. Bertucci in Chicago before attending law school next year. She was a recipient of the Daily Scholarship, a full-tuition scholarship competitively awarded to outstanding high school journalists and renewable each semester for up to four years. All scholarship recipients work in the Daily Iowan newsroom.

Other members of the 2000-01 award-winning staff are listed below according to hometown with Iowa hometowns listed first:


COUNCIL BLUFFS: Jeremy Schnitker, a senior; 1999-2000 sports writer, currently sports editor

CEDAR RAPIDS: Leanna Brundrett, a junior; currently arts & entertainment editor

DAVENPORT: Zach Boyden-Holmes, a sophomore; 1999-2000 photographer, currently photo editor; Ryan Foley, a junior; 1999-2000 news editor; currently managing editor, son of Daniel and Nancy Foley, 1999 graduate of Davenport West High School; Nick Ford, a junior, currently graphics artist; Joseph Plambeck, a senior, 1999-2000 wire editor and metro editor, currently editor, son of Jim and Sally Plambeck, 1997 graduate of Davenport Central High School

DES MOINES: Chao Xiong, a junior, currently news editor

DIKE: Lisa Livermore, a sophomore, currently city editor

FAIRFIELD: Mary Cuddehe, a senior; 1999-2000 copy chief, currently copy chief; daughter of Linda Rossi and Michael Cuddehe, attended Maharishi School of the Age of Enlightenment


ELGIN: Jesse Elliott, a senior, currently opinion editor

ROCKFORD: Drew Bixby, a sophomore, 1999-2000 metro reporter, currently arts & entertainment editor, son of Mark and Stacey Bixby; 2000 graduate of Rockford Lutheran High School