The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
5139 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8032; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: Nov. 8, 2001

UI medical students named to national medical honor society

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Some 19 University of Iowa medical students were inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) national medical honor society at an Oct. 18 ceremony at the UI College of Medicine.

The inductees are Amy Bargen, Kjell Benson, Mimi Chao, Matthew Dewall, John Dohrman, Patrick Hageman, Brenton Harris, Brent Hayek, Matthew Herold, Jeffrey Hilton, Rachel Maassen, James Magera, Tracy Reittinger, Michael Snyder, Quin Throckmorton, Michelle Verweyst, Shana Vifian, Patrick Weis and Julie Wilkerson.

Founded in 1902, AOA promotes scholarship and research in medical schools and encourages a high standard of character and conduct among medical students and medical school graduates. In recognition of high attainment in medical science, practice and related fields, the society elects outstanding medical students, alumni and faculty members to its ranks. AOA's goals are reflected in its motto, "Worthy to serve the suffering."

AOA has 105 chapters at medical schools throughout the United States and Canada. The UI chapter, Alpha of Iowa, was established in 1920.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI College of Medicine and the UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide. Visit UI Health Care online at