The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: May 30, 2001

UI Alumni Association presents 2001 Distinguished Alumni Awards June 9

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa Alumni Association will recognize the achievements of 11 notable UI alumni and friends at the 2001 Distinguished Alumni Awards presentation Saturday, June 9 at noon in the Main Lounge of the Iowa Memorial Union.

The public is invited to the luncheon and awards presentation, which is part of the Alumni Reunion Weekend June 7-10. Tickets are $17 per person and can be purchased through Stephanie Whitlock at the UI Alumni Association, (319) 335-3294 or 1 (800) 469-2596.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards are the highest honor presented by the UI Alumni Association, given annually since 1963 to recognize the achievements and service of UI alumni and friends. The awards are given in five categories: Achievement, Faculty/Staff Achievement, Service, Young Alumni, and Friends.

The Distinguished Alumni Award for Achievement is given for significant accomplishments in business or professional life or for distinguished human service. The recipients are:

Rolena Adorno, 1964 B.A., professor of Latin American literature at Yale University, is a leading scholar and prominent literary critic. She has helped shape the landscape of Latin American literary studies in this country and has produced imaginative research widely recognized as a groundbreaking body of work that has inspired a generation of young scholars in the field.

Daryl K. Granner, 1958 B.A., 1962 M.S., 1962 M.D., is the Joe C. Davis Professor of Biomedical Science and the director of the Vanderbilt Diabetes Center, as well as professor of molecular physiology and biophysics, and professor of internal medicine at Vanderbilt. He is an international leader in genetic research, is held in high esteem among scientists worldwide for his work in finding new methods for controlling diabetes. Granner also helped convert the Vanderbilt University Medical Center into a nationally ranked teaching hospital.

Karlene M. Kerfoot, 1965 B.S.N, 1970 M.A., has 28 years of experience in nursing and is currently senior vice president for nursing and patient care services and chief nurse executive and associate dean for clinical practice at the University of Indiana School of Nursing. An innovator in clinical practice, she is committed to improving healthcare procedures in the U.S. and abroad. Kerfoot is the founder of Iowa City's free medical clinic and a top executive at hospitals in Indiana and Texas, where she has engineered working models for compassionate patient care.

Simon O. Roberts, 1959 B.A., is former director of Adult Education at Black Hawk College in Moline, Ill. Through his work at Black Hawk College, and in collaboration with a broad range of community agencies, Roberts has opened doors for many people into the worlds of political office, educational advancement, and rewarding employment.

Sheldon J. Segal, 1951 M.S., 1952 Ph.D., was the former director of population sciences of the Rockefeller Foundation and is the distinguished scientist for the Population Council since 1991. He has devoted decades of research to resolving problems related to overpopulation and other public health concerns and has also extended his deep concern for humanity to the development of enrichment programs at a number of colleges and universities.

The Hickerson Recognition, given for outstanding contributions to the UI Alumni Association, will be awarded to Joel T. S. Greer, 1975 B.A., 1978 J.D. Greer served for more than seven years on the Alumni Association's board of directors, with a year as president from 1998 to 1999. A partner in the Marshalltown law firm of Cartwright, Druker and Ryden, Greer maintains close ties to the UI, serving as leader of the Marshalltown Iowa Club and on the Alumni Association's executive committee.

The Faculty/Staff Achievement Award, given for significant achievement or specific meritorious service on behalf of the quality and advancement of the UI and/or the Alumni Association, will be presented to Mauricio Lasansky, the UI Virgil M. Hancher Professor Emeritus of Art and Art History. He retired in 1985 from his position as director of a printmaking department that has garnered international respect for more than five decades. A recipient of many awards for his provocative artwork, he is also heralded as the pioneering director of the UI's graduate printmaking department. From 1945 to 1985, Lasansky created a workshop for artists at Iowa that U.S. News and World Report has twice ranked as number one in the nation and that Time magazine dubbed the nation's printmaking capital of the U.S.

The Distinguished Alumni Award for Service is given for meritorious service in community affairs or to the UI. The recipients are:

Charles M. Kierscht, 1960 B.A., 1962 J.D., a Chicago attorney and former chairman and chief executive officer of Kemper Financial Services, has supported the UI with enthusiasm and devotion. His interest in and generosity to the UI has been broad-based, reflected in donations to the Alumni Association, Hawkeye athletics, the Women's Archives, and many other areas. The capstone of his support was his $1 million gift to create an endowment to the College of Law for faculty support, merit scholarships, and the Iowa Law Library.

Warren G. Lawson, 1955 B.S. Commerce, was Adjutant General of Iowa from 1985 to 1999. He lead the Iowa National Guard to nationwide prominence through far-sighted innovations. Among many other accomplishments, he helped link all of the state's Guard facilities to the Iowa Communications Network, the state's fiber optic system, and efforts for the construction of long-needed Guard armories and other facilities.

Terrence J. Mulligan, 1968 S.E. (completed Iowa Education Licensure Program), 1968 B.S., past president and seven-year member of the Alumni Association's board of directors, has been an outstanding advocate of the UI on several fronts. In addition to his work with the Alumni Association, Mulligan has served Henry B. Tippie College of Business as a member of its Board of Visitors and as a guest lecturer. While working as a corporate vice president at American Hospital Supply Company and Baxter International, Inc., Mulligan was a strong advocate for Iowa's students and projects, providing a conduit to the top administration and a contact for many students who went on to serve the company at important levels.

The Distinguished Alumni Award/Young Alumni is given for significant accomplishments in business or professional life or for distinguished human service. The Young Alumni recipient is:

Mark K. Wuest, 1984 B.A., a dancer whose career includes five years with the Joffrey Ballet, is world-famous for his performances and choreographic vision. Wuest is the ballet director of Vivace Dance Art, a Berlin commercial dance company, and he co-founded the Zurich theater group, Three O'Clock Shadows.

The Distinguished Alumni Award /Friend, recognizing specific and meritorious service on behalf of the UI, will be given to Percy G. Harris. He was the first African American member of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, and a well-known Cedar Rapids family practitioner. Harris has supported advances in the UI's medical programs through membership in the Friends of the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics. He has also encouraged the growth of the UI's many other educational and cultural opportunities through participation in campus organizations, among them the Hancher Gold Circle and the UI Foundation's Presidents Club.