The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0017; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: March 20, 2001

UI Celebration of excellence among women to be held March 27

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- "A Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women," the University of Iowa's annual tribute to the accomplishments of all women at the University, will be held Tuesday, March 27, 4 to 6:30 p.m. in the IMU Main Lounge. A reception begins at 4 p.m., followed by the awards program at 5 p.m. The program is free and open to the public. A celebration dinner follows the awards presentation at 6:30 p.m. Reservations are required and may be made by calling 319-335-0253.

Special presentations will include the University of Iowa Distinguished Achievement Award, which this year will be given to co-winners Dr. Christine Grant and Professor Margery Wolf.

Grant is associate professor and women's athletics director emeritus, having served as director for 27 years. She is a nationally recognized consultant and expert in Title IX and gender equity and has given expert testimony and consultation for congressional hearings, lawsuits, state systems of higher education, task forces, the Department of Education and the Office for Civil Rights. She was a founding member and president for the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women. She served as president of the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletic Administrators from 1987-1989. In 1998 she received the NCAA Honda Award of Merit for Outstanding Achievement and the UI's Jean Jew Women's Rights Award.

Wolf is professor of anthropology and women's studies and served two terms as chair of the Women's Studies Program. She is recognized internationally as a China expert in anthropology and as a feminist scholar. She authored the classic "The House of Lim" (1968), and "Women and the Family in Rural Taiwan" (1972), books that have made a significant impact on thinking about Chinese family structure. Wolf has served as president of the American Ethnological Society and Secretary of the American Anthropological Association. In 1994 she received a Faculty Scholar Award and in 1998 she received the prestigious Regents Award. She has served on numerous UI committees, including the Liberal Arts Executive Committee, Promotion and Tenure Committee and the Committee on Faculty Scholarships and Fellowships.

In addition to the Distinguished Achievement Award, the following scholarships and awards will be announced at the awards ceremony:

Jane A. Weiss Memorial Scholarship will be awarded to Nancy Wairimu Muturi, Mass Communications, and Carol S. Lauhon, Department of English. The scholarship is named in honor of Jane Weiss, an assistant professor of women's studies and sociology at the time of her death in 1981. The award is made to doctoral students whose dissertations promise to expand understanding of important women's issues.

Ada Johnson/Otilia Maria Fernandez Fellowship will be awarded to Morgan Hoosman, Department of Geography. The fellowship is named in honor of two Iowa graduates who are among the first African American and Latina women to be found in university records. The award is given alternate years to an undergraduate or a graduate woman student of color.

Wynonna G. Hubbard Scholarship will be awarded to Kelsey R. Forbush, Department of Psychology. Established by University of Iowa Vice President Emeritus Philip G. Hubbard, in memory of his wife, the award is given each year to an African American woman with a grade-point average of 3.0 or above who demonstrates an unusual interest in the wellbeing of others.

Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award will be given to Susan Beckett, Engineering Computer Network. The award is named for Jean Y. Jew, professor of anatomy, who fought an uphill battle for more than a decade to defend herself against slander and sexual harassment from faculty in her department, a struggle that she ultimately won. Given annually by the Council on the Status of Women and the Women's Resource & Action Center, the award honors a faculty, staff, or student member of the University community who has demonstrated an outstanding effort or achievement in improving the status of women on campus.

This year's dinner proceeds will benefit the Johnson County Sexual Assault Response Team (SART), established last July. Assault survivors receive evidentiary examinations in dedicated facilities at UI Hospitals and Clinics by teams consisting of specially trained nurse examiners, survivor advocates and, when appropriate, law enforcement personnel. Established last July, SART currently is coordinated by the Rape Victim Advocacy Program with federal funding and in-kind support from UI Hospitals and Clinics and the UI College of Nursing. SART's advisory board hopes to use proceeds from the celebration dinner to begin raising money to fund a full time coordinator and buy needed equipment.

University sponsors of "A Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women" are Office of Admissions; the Associate Provost for Health Sciences; Association of University Women; College of Engineering Administration: College of Medicine; College of Nursing; College of Public Health; Council on the Status of Women; and the Departments of Family Medicine, Geoscience, Internal Medicine, Microbiology, Orthopaedic Surgery, Pediatrics, Physiology & Biophysics, Sociology and Women's Studies; Graduate College; Henry B. Tippie College of Business; Human Resources; IMU Catering; Mail Services; Office of Affirmative Action; Office of the Provost; Opportunity at Iowa; Printing Department; Library Administration; School of Religion; Support Service Programs; University Life Centers; University Relations; Vice President for Research; Women in Science and Engineering; and Women's Resource and Action Center.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation in order to participate in this program, please call (319) 335-3114 in advance.