The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Feb. 27, 2001

High school students are honored at annual science symposium

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Five student presenters at the 39th Annual Iowa Junior Science and Humanities Symposium (JSHS) held Feb. 23-24 at the University of Iowa earned a trip to the National JSHS in Orlando, Fla. and a $750 scholarship to the University of Iowa.

The symposium was hosted by the UI Secondary Student Training Office for 200 Iowa high school students and teachers.

Amber Hohl of Central Lee High School, Donnellson, took first place with her presentation, "Evidence and Documentation Describing a New Tardigrade Species and Anhydrobiotic Capacities of Three Species of Tardigrada," earning a $4,000 scholarship to a college of her choice. She will present her paper at the National JSHS to be held April 25-29. Hohl will compete with 47 other student researchers for a chance to participate at the World Symposium in London to receive either the London International Youth Science Fortnight Award or Academy scholarships totaling more than $100,000.

Hohl's science teacher, Ernest Schiller, will be awarded $500 to be used for books, supplies or equipment.

The other finalists are: Brennan Johnson, Roosevelt High School, Des Moines, who placed second with "Phylogeography of the Western Hognose Snake, Heterodon nasicus"; and, in alphabetical order: Arielle Hardre, West Liberty High School, Nichols, "Evaluation of Simple Tandem Repeat Polymorphism (STRP) Markers Near the Juvenile Polyposis Gene, SMAD4"; Gretchen Wilson, West Central of Stuart High School, Stuart, "Parasitic Influence on Ovines -- Chemical or Natural"; and Sara Woller, Cascade High School, Cascade, "Experience Influences Hindlimb Coordination in Infant Rats."

The Junior Science and Humanities Symposia Program has been held for more than three decades by the U.S. Department of the Army, the Office of Naval Research, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, and by the Academy of Applied Science, Inc.