The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


300 Plaza Centre One
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Dec. 4, 2001

(EDITOR'S NOTE: Receipt of this release indicates that a student from your readership area is a fall 2001 inductee to the University of Iowa chapter of the national Phi Beta Kappa honor society. Students are listed alphabetically by hometown; students whose hometown is in Iowa are listed first.)

Local student initiated into Phi Beta Kappa

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- (Student name) of (hometown) was one of 37 University of Iowa students inducted in December into the Alpha of Iowa chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, the national scholarly fraternity that initiates college seniors and juniors based primarily on academic achievement.

The newly inducted students were selected based on the honor society's minimum requirements, which include a minimum 3.8 gpa, completion of at least 100 semester hours, and completion of the UI's four-year proficiency in a single language. Phi Beta Kappa is academe's oldest Greek letter fraternity. Nationally, only 10 percent of college students are inducted.


CASCADE: Jill Kristine Bries
CEDAR FALLS: Neekesh Vijay Dharia
CEDAR RAPIDS: Sarah J. Toton
CENTERVILLE: Ericka Elizabeth Altiser
CLINTON: Julie Elizabeth Corr
COUNCIL BLUFFS: Luke Robert Gutzwiller
CRESCO: Melissa Nicole Hughes
DES MOINES: Francis Edward Swoboda
DUBUQUE: Lindsey Anne Lange
EDGEWOOD: Amy Lynn Heims
FAIRFIELD: Edward Glenn Smyth IV
FARMINGTON: Casey Laraine Wilmesmeier
FORT DODGE: Sarah Anne Marner
HOLY CROSS: Christopher Jeffrey Lake
IOWA CITY: Nathaniel Theobald Kron, Julia Marmion, Rebecca Lynn Reese,
Elizabeth McKinstry Tucker
IOWA FALLS: Larissa Marie Pisney
MARION: Jana Dawn Bodensteiner
MECHANICSVILLE: Stacey Renae Heneks
MUSCATINE: Sarah Elizabeth Snydacker
NORTH LIBERTY: Rochelle Renee Honey
STRAWBERRY POINT: Megan Marie Miller
THURMAN: Elizabeth Erin Pewthers
TRAER: Jacob Kenneth Glenn
WEST DES MOINES: Mary Kristin Bryant, Eileen May Lee


LAKE VILLA: Michelle Dawn Lewis
LOMBARD: Lindsay Julia McCracken
McHENRY: Kathleen M. Keith


CLAYTON: Kevin Duncan Wall
PARKVILLE: Mona Kathryn Haeker


SIOUX FALLS: Prachi Arvind Apte


RICHMOND: Robert Brian Ostheimer


BRIDGEPORT: Micah Zebulon Wedemeyer


EAU CLAIRE: Stacy Jane Kluck