The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
5 Old Capitol
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-0552; fax (319) 335-0558

Release: April 30, 2001

Coleman elected to prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- University of Iowa President Mary Sue Coleman has been named a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Coleman was one of 185 scholars and luminaries elected this year by the academy in recognition of their unique contributions to the nation and the world.

In addition to serving as president, Coleman holds academic appointments as professor of biochemistry in the College of Medicine and professor of biological sciences in the College of Liberal Arts. She was elected to the National Academy of Sciences' Institute of Medicine in 1997.
In 1999, she was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

There are approximately 3,600 Fellows and 600 Foreign Honorary Members of the academy worldwide, including 150 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.

The other UI fellows include four from the College of Medicine, four from the College of Liberal Arts, and one from the College of Law: Francois Abboud, internal medicine; Willard Boyd, law and President Emeritus, Antonio Damasio, neurology; Hanna Damasio, neurology; June Helm, anthropology; Linda Kerber, history; James McPherson, creative writing; James Van Allen, physics and astronomy; and Michael J. Welsh, internal medicine, physiology and biophysics. Former UI President Hunter Rawlings was elected to the Academy in 1995, just before leaving the campus to serve as president of Cornell University.

The academy was founded by John Adams during the American Revolution. Today it is a learned society with a dual function -- to honor achievement in science, scholarship, the arts and public affairs; and to conduct a varied program of projects and studies reflecting the interest of its members and responsive to the needs and problems of society.

This year's new fellows will be welcomed as members at the annual induction ceremony, scheduled to be held at the academy's headquarters, in Cambridge, Mass., on Oct. 13. More information is available on the academy’s Web site,