The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: April 26, 2001

UI Tippie College of Business honors Rockwell Collins President Clay Jones

IOWA CITY, Iowa --- The University of Iowa Henry B. Tippie College of Business has named Clayton M. Jones, president of Rockwell Collins in Cedar Rapids, the recipient of the 2000 Oscar C. Schmidt Iowa Business Leadership Award.

The Tippie College of Business honored Jones April 25 at a dinner and program at the Main Lounge of the Iowa Memorial Union.

The Iowa Business Leadership Award was established by the late C. Oscar Schmidt, president of the Cincinnati Butchers' Supply Company, who wanted to honor his father by recognizing an outstanding Iowa business executive. His intention was to honor an outstanding Iowa business leader and to provide a vehicle by which the students and faculty of the College could interact with successful career men and women. The award recognizes outstanding performance in the world of commerce in the belief that business leadership is essential to the economic progress of Iowa and the nation.

Rockwell Collins joined the UI Tippie School of Management and the Iowa State University College of Engineering in May 2000 to create an integrated 26-month dual-degree graduate program for practicing engineers. Graduates can earn a dual degree in Masters of Business Administration from the UI and a Master of Engineering degree in Systems Engineering from ISU.

"Clay Jones and Rockwell Collins have exhibited exemplary leadership in both business and education," said Gary Fethke, dean of the UI Tippie College of Business. "Rockwell Collins' top managers have participated in our traditional Executive MBA Program for many years, and the new dual-degree program, that focuses on engineering, was developed largely as a result of Clay Jones' foresight and encouragement."

Past recipients of the award, first given in 1980, include: Clark E. McLeod, chairman and chief executive officer of McLeodUSA Inc.; Stanley J. Bright, chairman and chief executive officer of MidAmerican Energy Company; William T. Kerr, chairman and chief executive officer of Meredith Corporation; Leonard Hadley, chairman and chief executive officer of Maytag Corporation; and John Pappajohn, president of Equity Dynamics, Inc.

Clayton M. (Clay) Jones was named president of Rockwell Collins in January 1999, having served as executive vice president of Rockwell Collins since November 1996. Additionally, he is a corporate officer and senior vice president of Rockwell International.

Rockwell Collins designs, produces, markets and supports communication and aviation electronics for commercial, military, and government customers. The business employs approximately 16,000 people worldwide with 9,500 people at five Iowa locations.

Rockwell is a $7 billion electronic controls and communications company with global leadership positions in industrial automation, avionics and communications, and electronic commerce. The company employs approximately 40,000 people at more than 450 locations serving customers in more than 80 countries.

Previously, Jones served as vice president and general manager of the Collins Air Transport Division, a position he was appointed to in September 1995. Earlier that year he was appointed corporate senior vice president of Government Operations and International in Washington, D.C., where he represented all Rockwell businesses to international and domestic customers. From 1988
to 1995, Jones was responsible for the space and aircraft systems business areas as vice president of Aerospace Government Affairs and Marketing at Rockwell's Government Operations office in Washington. In 1982 he was sponsored by Rockwell to serve a fellowship in a White House Executive Exchange program.

A native of Nashville, Tenn., Jones joined Rockwell International in 1979 after serving in the U.S. Air Force as a fighter pilot. Jones holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Tennessee and a master's degree in business administration from George Washington University.

Jones serves on the board of directors of the General Aviation Manufacturers Association (GAMA), is a member of the RTCA Policy Board, and is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA).

Jones also serves on the board of directors of the Cedar Rapids Area Chamber of Commerce, Priority One, and the Cedar Rapids Symphony Orchestra Association. He is a member of the Board of Trustees for the United Way of East Central Iowa and is vice chair of the Iowa Business Council. Jones was named the Governor's Technology Advisor for Advanced Manufacturing in January 2000.

Jones enjoys golf, skiing, and music. He and his wife Debbie have two daughters.