The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
5139 Westlawn
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8032; fax (319) 384-4638

Release: April 23, 2001

Three UI faculty inducted into the Association of American Physicians

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Three University of Iowa College of Medicine faculty members will be inducted into the Association of American Physicians (AAP) Sunday, April 29 at the AAP's annual business meeting. The UI inductees are among 55 physicians elected as AAP members this year.

This year's inductees are Nancy Andreasen, M.D., Ph.D., Andrew H. Woods Professor of Psychiatry and director of the UI Mental Health Clinical Research Center; Richard Sontheimer, M.D.; and Larry Tobacman, M.D.

Andreasen received the National Medal of Science last December for her work in biological sciences and her research in schizophrenia. She earned her medical degree from the UI in 1970 and joined the medical faculty in 1973. Her research interests and specialties include brain imaging, creativity, genetic and family studies and schizophrenia.

Andreasen is editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Psychiatry. She has served as chair of the International Advisory Board for the Nobel Symposium on Schizophrenia and is past president of the American Psychopathological Association and the Psychiatric Research Society.

She is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and has twice been elected to serve on its governing council.

Richard Sontheimer, M.D., professor and head of dermatology, joined the UI faculty in 1998. He was previously a professor and vice-chairman of dermatology at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, where he obtained his medical degree in 1972.

He is an immunodermatology expert and has a specific interest in the study of the skin problems that occur in patients with lupus erythematosus and dermatomyositis. He belongs to a number of professional organizations including the American Society of Clinical Investigation and the American Dermatological Association and was the founding president of the Medical Dermatology Society. He currently serves on the Medical Advisory Council of the Lupus Foundation of America, and is a member of the editorial boards of the medical journals Lupus and the International Journal of Dermatology. He also served as the president of the Iowa Dermatological Society 1998-1999.

Larry Tobacman, M.D., professor of internal medicine and biochemistry, came to the UI in 1986. Tobacman received his medical training at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio and his research training in cell biology and biochemistry at the National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute in Bethesda, Maryland.

Tobacman's clinical and research interests involve the biochemistry of contractile proteins. He is currently investigating the properties and actions of the proteins that directly control cardiac and skeletal muscle contraction, and the mechanisms by which genetic defects in cardiac proteins cause inherited heart disease. His work is supported by the National Institutes of Health and the American Heart Association.

University of Iowa Health Care describes the partnership between the UI College of Medicine and the UI Hospitals and Clinics and the patient care, medical education and research programs and services they provide.