The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: April 2, 2001

UI Law students earn top honors at moot court competitions

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Ten of 82 second-year law students who took part recently in the annual Baskerville and Van Oosterhout Moot Court competitions at the University of Iowa College of Law will represent the college at the National and Chicago Moot Court competitions for the 2001-02 academic year.

National team members Neil Bubke, Jodie Frederickson, Tim Furrow, Molly O'Brien Loussaert, Brian McCool and Tiffany Roepsch earned national team honors as the top finishers in the Van Oosterhout Moot Court Competition held March 1. The team will face students from a 14-school region next fall, with the opportunity to advance to the national finals in New York.

Gina Cesaretti, Charles Simmons, Geoff Larson and Teresa Cauwels were named to the Chicago Moot Court team after they placed highest in the Baskerville Competition, this year renamed from Appellate Advocacy II.

The winners of both competitions were chosen based on their written and oral advocacy skills as determined by a panel of judges.

Frederickson and McCool, as the top two advocates in Van Oosterhout, will present oral arguments against Larson and Simmons -- two of the finalists of the Baskerville competition -- at Iowa Supreme Court Day. The advocates will compete in the fall before sitting and senior justices of the Iowa Supreme Court.

Students Laureen Anderson, Yamuna Bhaskaran, Darwin Clupper, Geoff Larson and Kimberly Wadas were selected to the 2001-02 Jessup International Moot Court team.

At the culmination of the Van Oosterhout rounds, Melinda Myers received the Van Oosterhout Best Brief award; Tim Cramm earned the Best Oralist award; and Brian McCool took the Best Advocate award.

Kirk Bainbridge, Scott Finlayson, Anne McClintock and Raymond Tinnian advanced to the Baskerville semi-final round. Teresa Cauwels, Gina Cesaretti, Geoff Larson and Charles Simmons advanced as finalists in the Baskerville Competition; Doug Frederick and Kary Klismet tied for Baskerville Best Brief; Teresa Cauwels won the Best Advocate award; and Anne McClintock earned the Best Oralist award.