The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: May 19, 2000

UI Alumni Association presents 2000 Distinguished Alumni Awards

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa Alumni Association will recognize the achievements of 13 notable UI alumni and friends at the 2000 Distinguished Alumni Awards presentation Saturday, June 10 at noon in the Main Lounge of the Iowa Memorial Union.

The public is invited to the luncheon and awards presentation, which is part of the Alumni Reunion Weekend June 8-11. Tickets are $15 per person and can be purchased through Stephanie Jones at the UI Alumni Association, (319) 335-3294 or (800) 469-2596.

The Distinguished Alumni Awards are the highest honor presented by the UI Alumni Association. They have been presented annually since 1963 to recognize the achievements and service of UI alumni and friends. The awards are given in five categories: Achievement, Faculty/Staff Achievement, Service, Young Alumni, and Friends.

The Distinguished Alumni Award for Achievement is given for significant accomplishments in business or professional life or for distinguished human service. The recipients are:

-- James H. Cavanaugh, 1961 M.A., 1964 Ph.D., a leader in the U.S. pharmaceutical industry and in the recent history of national health policy, was an advisor to three American presidents. As president of Healthcare Investment Corp. in Edison, N.J., Cavanaugh now manages the largest venture capital fund devoted exclusively to health care.

-- James Ericson, 1958 B.A., 1962 J.D., is president and chief executive officer of Northwestern Life Insurance Company in Milwaukee. He credits his Iowa boyhood for instilling in him the values that have guided his career -- from the time he joined Northwestern as an attorney until now, as head of the nation's fifth largest life insurance company.

-- Alfred Hinton, 1967 B.A., is a mixed media artist and professor of art at the University of Michigan, has been a leader in the arts community of his state and a creative inspiration to the prison inmates he's taught. His work, which is prominently displayed in public buildings in Michigan, has also helped raise scholarship dollars to support African-American students at the UI. He was a star on the Hawkeye football team and was its most valuable player and a Coaches Association All-American in 1961.

-- W.A "Bill" Krause, 1957 B.A., owner, president, and chief executive officer of Krause Gentle Corporation in West Des Moines, oversees more than 300 Kum & Go convenience stores and more than a dozen other affiliate companies. Repeatedly honored as an entrepreneur, Krause is an eager supporter of his alma mater and shares his success through many philanthropic activities.

-- Donald P. Lay, 1949 B.A., 1951 J.D., was appointed to the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit by President Lyndon B. Johnson in 1966 after a distinguished career practicing law in Omaha, Neb. He retired as chief judge in 1992, but with senior status he continues to sit often in various federal and district courts, while also teaching at the University of Minnesota Law School and William Mitchell College of Law.

-- J. Bernard Machen, 1972 M.S., 1974 Ph.D., is president of the University of Utah. He has proven to be an accomplished academician at both the University of North Carolina, where he was dean of the School of Dentistry, and at the University of Michigan, where he served as provost and executive vice president of academic affairs. An important leader in higher education, he is known for building good relations between institutions and people.

-- David L. Maher, 1964 B.S. in Pharmacy, a progressive leader in the pharmaceutical retail industry, is retired president and chief executive officer of American Stores Company, headquartered in Salt Lake City, Utah. Having spent his entire career with one company, Maher has transformed it into a fully integrated food and drug store that ranks among the top few players in a rapidly consolidating business. The pharmaceutical care initiatives he has promoted are virtually unparalleled in the chain drug industry. He will not be able to attend the event, but will be recognized in 2001.

-- Marcia J. Radosevich, 1978 M.A., 1982 Ph.D., was trained in sociology and has enjoyed an impressive career in technology and information management in the health care area. Formerly chief executive officer, president, and chairman of the board of HPR Inc., an emerging company in health care information technology in Cambridge, Mass., Radosevich now serves as consultant to the Health Care Entrepreneurship Program at Boston University's Health Policy Institute.

-- Jin Wu, 1961 M.S., 1964 Ph.D., an eminent engineer and internationally recognized educator, is a Distinguished Professor of Engineering at the National Cheng Kung University in the Republic of China (Taiwan). As the university's president and as Taiwan's former Minister of Education, he implemented significant educational reform in his country. In 1980, Wu was appointed the University of Delaware's H. Fletcher Brown Professor of Marine Studies and Civil Engineering, and he was elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering in 1995.

The Distinguished Alumni Award for Service is given for meritorious service in community affairs or to the UI. The recipients are:

-- Eugene Hickman, Sr., 1959 Ph.D., was the first African American to receive a Ph.D. in pharmacy at the University of Iowa. He was instrumental in helping train scores of African American pharmacists at Texas Southern University, which has produced 33 percent of the nation's black pharmacists, and where Hickman taught full-time from 1959 to 1998. A superior teacher and extraordinary mentor, Hickman has inspired a new generation of pharmacists and other medical professionals.

-- John E. Tyrrell, 1947 B.A., 1950 M.D., a major figure in Iowa's medical community and former member of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, has been innovative in practicing rural family medicine and in building bridges among physicians statewide. He helped develop the "UI Consult" system, offering physicians faster access to university medical staff and providing more cohesive medical treatment for patients. He has been a tireless advocate for quality higher education in Iowa.

The Distinguished Alumni Award/Young Alumna is given for significant accomplishments in business or professional life or for distinguished human service. The Young Alumna recipient is Ann M. Wheelock, 1984 B.S., a high ranking Latina in the world of philanthropy. She is senior vice president of the Western Regional Office of the Fannie May Foundation, a Fortune 100 company with the public mission of helping more families achieve the American dream of home ownership. Formerly a municipal bond attorney with a prestigious law firm in Denver, Colo., and an appointee of Denver mayor Wellington Webb, Wheelock is an advisory board member of the Joint Center for Housing Studies at Harvard University.

The Distinguished Alumni Award /Friend, recognizing specific and meritorious service on behalf of the UI, will be given to Richard O. Jacobson, chairman of the board of the Richard O. Jacobson Foundation in Des Moines and a former student at the UI College of Business. In 1968, he founded Jacobson Companies, a warehouse company with six employees, guiding the development of the firm, now employing nearly 500 people in transportation, trucking, investment management, and warehousing. A philanthropist who is eager to share his success with many beneficiaries, Jacobson has provided generous support to Hawkeye athletics and to the Henry B. Tippie College of Business.