The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: May 16, 2000

Willard Boyd is elected fellow of American Academy of Arts and Sciences

IOWA CITY- Willard L. Boyd, a UI law professor who is president emeritus of the UI, will be inducted as a fellow of the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences on Oct. 14.

Boyd was elected into the Educational and Scientific Administration section of the Academy and is one of 154 newly elected fellows and 15 foreign honorary members who will be inducted.

Boyd has had a long and distinguished career at the University of Iowa, serving as a law professor from 1961 until 1964, then as vice president for academic affairs and dean of the faculties from 1964-1969. In 1969 he was named president of the university, serving until 1981, when he became president of the Chicago Field Museum. He served in that capacity until 1996, when he returned to the UI law school as a professor.

The 220 year-old Academy is the most prestigious body of scholars and public citizens who collaborate to broaden the public's understanding of issues of major intellectual and public concern. It boasts over 600 fellows and 168 Nobel laureates among its 3,600 members.

On May 10, former UI President James O. Freedman was elected as the Academy's 42nd president. As Academy president, he joins the elite company of John Adams, John Quincy Adams, Talcott Parsons and outgoing president and former Harvard Medical School Dean Daniel C. Tosteson.

Others from the UI who have been elected as fellows to the Academy include Dr. Michael J. Welsh, professor of internal medicine and physiology and biophysics, who was elected in 1998. In 1997, named were: Dr. Francios Abboud, head, department of internal medicine; Antonio Damasio, head, department of neurology; Hanna Damasio, professor of neurology; and Linda Kerber, professor of history.

UI Professors James Allen McPherson, professor of English and faculty member in the Writers' Workshop; James Van Allen, physics and astronomy; and former UI President Hunter Rawlings were named in 1995. June Helm, anthropology professor was inducted in 1994.