The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: May 4, 2000

Students, faculty receive awards at MBA Spring Honors Ball

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Students and faculty received awards at the Master of Business Administration (MBA) Spring Honors Ball April 14.

For the first time, the Tippie School of Management had the opportunity to offer the $5,000 Kiplinger Award to Susan Gallo, a first-year student and a graduate assistant in the department of management sciences, who demonstrated both academic excellence and potential for leadership. The award is given by the Kiplinger Foundation, an independent grant-making foundation established by W.M. Kiplinger, a business and economics journalist who founded the Kiplinger Letter, a weekly business forecasting publication, and Kiplinger's Personal Finance Magazine.

The Wall Street Journal Award recognized Pat Carruthers, a first-year student and president of the MBA Association, for making significant contributions to the program and demonstrating success in the classroom.

The Tippie School of Management also presented IMPACT Awards to two students: Baronese Green, a graduate assistant in the management and organizations department, and Scott Hamilton, a graduate assistant in the School of Management. These awards recognize graduating students who display the characteristics of IMPACT, which stands for involvement, motivation, professionalism, achievement, challenge and teamwork, the core values of the MBA program.

In addition to the School's awards, MBA students selected and presented four awards of their own. Scott Hamilton was named the MBA Student of the Year. Kurt Anstreicher, professor of management sciences, received the MBA Core Faculty Member of the Year award. Baba Shiv, an assistant professor of marketing, was selected as this year's MBA Elective Faculty Member of the Year. The Tippie School of Management Staff Member of the Year award was given to Jeff Emrich, director of MBA Student Services.