The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: May 2, 2000

(EDITORS: Receipt of this release indicates an award winner in your readership area.)

UI student photographers win state, national awards

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- University of Iowa photojournalism students won dozens of awards at this year's Iowa Press Photographers Association (IPPA) College Competition and the National Press Photographers Association (NPPA) College Photographer of the Year competition.

At the state level, UI senior Brian Ray was named Iowa College Photographer of the Year, and UI photojournalism students took first place honors in every category in the 2000 IPPA College Competition. UI photographers also received numerous second and third place awards as well as honorable mentions in the competition.

In addition to a cash prize, Ray's Photographer of the Year award includes a one-day paid freelance assignment from The Des Moines Register.

In the national competition, UI senior Stacy Kluck won a gold medal (first place) in the portrait category of the NPPA college competition and two other UI students won awards of excellence. More information on this competition is available online at <>.
The competition organizers hope to post the winning photographs on this site by mid-May.

John Kimmich, a UI associate professor of journalism who teaches photojournalism, said he was gratified to see his students win top honors both regionally and nationally. "These are both tough competitions, and it shows an incredible amount of talent among these students to have won so many of the top awards," he said.

The IPPA winners are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa hometowns listed first. Following the IPPA list, winners of the NPPA awards are listed alphabetically by hometown.



CEDAR RAPIDS: Ethan Fry, senior, First Place Pictoral Photo

DAVENPORT: Matt Holst, senior, First Place Multiple Pictures/Picture Story, Third Place College Photographer of the Year, and Third Place News Photo; Brian Ray, senior, College Photographer of the Year, First Place News Photo, First Place Sports Photo, Second Place Photo Illustration, Third Place Portrait/Personality Photo, and Honorable Mention Feature Photo; Brett Roseman, junior, First Place Photo Illustration and Honorable Mention Sports Photo

IOWA CITY: Kirk Murray, graduate student, First Place Feature Photo and Second Place Multiple Pictures/Picture Story


CRYSTAL LAKE: Denise Powell, senior, Second and Third Place Pictoral Photo, Honorable Mention Portrait/Personality Photo and Honorable Mention Sports Photo

PEORIA: Brad Causey, senior, First Place and two Honorable Mentions Portrait/Personality Photo


ERIE: Rob Mellett, senior, Second and Third Place Feature Photo


KUALA LUMPUR: Sok Lin Lim, graduate student, Third Place Multiple Pictures/Picture Story



CRYSTAL LAKE: Denise Powell, senior, Award of Excellence for Sports Feature

TINLEY PARK: Kari M. Napoli, senior, Award of Excellence for Personal Vision


EAU CLAIRE: Stacey Kluck, senior, Gold Medal (First Place) in Portraits