The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: March 22, 1999

UI engineering students qualify for national bridge-building contest

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- (Student name) of (hometown), a University of Iowa College of Engineering student, will participate in the 2000 edition of the National Steel Bridge Competition to be held May 20 at Texas A&M University, College Station.

This is the fourth consecutive year the UI student chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) has qualified for the national contest. This year's invitation came by way of a third-place finish at the ASCE Midwest Regional Conference held in February at the University of North Dakota in Grand Forks. The UI ASCE bridge building team included co-chairs Ben Carhoff and Todd Barrett and construction team members Lydia Abarr, Jack Burnham, Brad Hill, James Mitchell, and Josh Shippy. Also representing the UI ASCE Student Chapter at the Regional Conference were Nick Bettis, Kathy Johnson, Ben Moline, and Matt Palmer. Colby Swan, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering, advises the steel bridge team, while Allen Bradley, assistant professor, serves as faculty advisor for the ASCE student chapter.

The competition calls for teams to design and construct a 22-foot-long steel bridge as light as possible, yet able to support a load of 2,000 pounds with minimal deflection. The bridges are judged in such categories as weight, aesthetics, construction time and lateral and vertical deflection.

The UI team is supported by contributions from private industry, the College of Engineering, and the University of Iowa Student Government. Next year's Midwest Regional Steel Bridge Competition is scheduled to be held in Iowa City in late-February.

EDITOR: Students are listed alphabetically by hometown.


ANKENY: Brad Hill.
BOONE: Lydia Abarr.
DUBUQUE: Josh Shippy.
LOCKRIDGE: Jack Burnham.
SHELBY: Todd Barrett.
SPERRY: Ben Carhoff.


TINLEY PARK: James Mitchell.