The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
2130 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8964; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: July 28, 2000

Two UI College of Nursing faculty nominated to nursing academy

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Two University of Iowa College of Nursing faculty will be inducted as fellows of the American Academy of Nursing at the academy's annual meeting and conference on Nov. 4 in San Diego.

Janet K. Specht, Ph.D., is an assistant professor in the college. She is known nationally for her research in urinary incontinence and dementia, especially in persons who live in long-term care facilities. Specht also is a co-founder and partner in Liberty Country Living in North Liberty, Iowa, an innovative community supported living facility for people with Alzheimer's disease. She currently has a project funded by the UI's Gerontological Nursing Interventions Research Center to study a treatment for urinary incontinence in nursing homes.

Janet K. Williams, Ph.D., is a genetics nurse specialist, pediatric nurse practitioner and genetic counselor. Her research, funded by institutional grants and the National Institute for Nursing Research, focuses on the behavioral aspects of Turner syndrome, the psychological impact of heterozygote genetic testing and coping with the results of presymptomatic testing for Huntington's disease. She is past president of the International Society for Nurses in Genetics and consults on numerous national projects to promote education of nurses regarding genetics. Williams is an associate professor in the college.

Established in 1973 to provide visionary leadership to the nursing profession, the American Academy of Nursing has 1,350 members. Election to the academy requires membership in a state nurses association, outstanding contributions to nursing over and above those required for the candidate's employment and the potential to continue making significant contributions to the profession and the academy. Currently, 11 college faculty members and three emeritus faculty members are fellows of the academy.