The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Feb. 25, 2000

McNally, Oness win short fiction awards from UI Press

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa Press has named John McNally recipient of the 2000 John Simmons Short Fiction Award for his collection "Troublemakers" and selected Elizabeth Oness as the winner of the 2000 Iowa Short Fiction Award for her title "Listeners at the Still Point."

McNally, a UI Writers' Workshop and Southern Illinois University graduate, is a previous winner of a James Michener fellowship. McNally and his wife Amy Knox Brown live in Iowa City.

Elizabeth Oness directs marketing and development for the Sutton Hoo Press and lives in
La Crosse, Wis. She is a graduate of James Madison University and the Universities of Maryland-College Park and Missouri-Columbia.

Writer Elizabeth McCracken selected this year's winners and says McNally's short stories are "simultaneously laugh-out-loud funny and absolutely heartbreaking…full of the kind of moral weight that reminds you what stories are for."

Oness has received many honors for her stories, including the O. Henry Prize and a Nelson Algren Award. She has recently completed her soon-to-be-published first novel, "Twelve Rivers of the Body."

Both McNally's and Oness' titles will be published by the UI Press this fall.

The short fiction awards are given to a first collection of fiction of English and are administered through the Iowa Writers' Workshop. The honors are national in scope and have been given annually since 1969. The John Simmons Short Fiction Award, named after the first UI Press director, was created in 1988 to complement the Iowa Short Fiction Award.