The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Aug. 23, 2000

UI business students enter Early Admission Program

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Some 40 first-year students have been admitted to the Early Admissions Program (EAP) at the Henry B. Tippie College of Business at the University of Iowa, giving them a chance to accelerate their academic career.

As part of EAP, students can get involved in research from the start of their first year under the guidance of a faculty mentor. EAP provides accelerated and individualized programs to let students expand beyond the basic requirements for the degree. The individualized plans include eligibility for business major courses, special honors seminars, working closely with a faculty research mentor, and visits with corporate representatives and alumni.

Students typically apply for admission to the Henry B. Tippie College of Business at the end of their sophomore year, but the College admits highly qualified first-year students through the Undergraduate Programs Office. Students are admitted based on their SAT or ACT scores and their class ranking.

"EAP helps business students to focus their attention on important issues earlier in their academic career. The program also provides scholarship opportunities in addition to helping students compete for regular Tippie College of Business Scholarships," said Steve Hubbard, EAP director and assistant director of student activities in the Undergraduate Programs Office.

For more information about the Early Admission Program, e-mail or call 800-553-4692 ext.1037.

EAP students from Iowa include:

ANKENY: Stephen Newman
BETTENDORF: Tiffany Lewis, Andrew Drescher
BLUE GRASS: Leah Borgeson
CEDAR FALLS: Timothy Larsen
CEDAR RAPIDS: Molly Van Dusseldorp, Sandra Pfeiler, Jacob Nelson
CLARION: Brandon Miller
CLIVE: Jason Snider
DAVENPORT: Kira Selser, Isaac Melton
DES MOINES: Joshua Jeun
DUBUQUE: Scott Thill
IOWA CITY: Leah Roberts, Margaret Larson
KEOKUK: Erin Orozco
LIME SPRINGS: Amanda Schwickerath
MASON CITY: Erica Sanft
NICHOLS: Nicholas Schmitt
ONAWA: Patrick Hewitt
OSKALOOSA: Kandis Roozeboom
PELLA: Jessica Shook
STORY CITY: Allison Heckert
WATERLOO: Noelle Hamer, Blair West.
WEST DES MOINES: Matthew Ford.


ADDISON: Allison Botsch ALSIP: Michael McDonald
FREEPORT: Christina Schmitt
GENEVA: Joshua Lower
GLEN ELLYN: Timothy Bowen
ORLAND PARK: Maureen Riggio


SCOTTSDALE: Stephani Butters,


PARKVILLE: Katie Ketelsen,
WEBSTER GROVES: Kimberly Semsar


LINCOLN: Michael Wilson




LA CROSSE: Meghan Isaacson