The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Aug. 1, 2000

'Catalyst' diversity award winners are announced

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa Office of Affirmative Action has named Professors Raúl Curto and Mickey Eliason co-recipients of the Catalyst Award, a $250 award given annually by that office in recognition of persons and units that enrich diversity within the UI community. The Graduate College has been named this year's unit recipient of the award.

Curto, Eliason, the Graduate College and all nominees for the award will be formally recognized during a 4:30 p.m. reception Thursday, Oct. 5 at the Iowa Memorial Union, North Room.

Curto, executive associate dean of the College of Liberal Arts and mathematics professor, was selected because of his established commitment to diversity, his recruiting of a diverse faculty, and for helping junior faculty receive mentoring to assist in their success at the UI.

Eliason, associate professor in the College of Nursing and director of the UI Sexuality Studies program, was selected because of her work within the UI community on behalf of diversity initiatives, particularly in the areas of sexuality studies and human rights.

The Graduate College received the award for its work in supporting graduate students from diverse backgrounds, for developing partnerships with departments, for its off-campus recruitment initiatives, and for its leadership on a regional and national level.

The Catalyst Award, which requires a nomination, is designed to recognize individuals and units on campus that have demonstrated excellence in meeting the following criteria:

-- The nominee has developed an innovative program, policy or activity to enhance the diversity within the UI; or
-- The nominee's contributions are distinctive and have had a positive effect on building respect for diversity within the UI community.

The 2000 Catalyst Award recipients were selected by a six-person selection committee made up of persons from various UI departments.