The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0044; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: April 25, 2000

UI announces faculty promotions, tenure decisions

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The Board of Regents, State of Iowa, is scheduled to approve promotions and/or tenure for 98 members of the university faculty. Here is a list of all faculty and adjunct faculty who are to be promoted for the 2000-2001 academic year, beginning July 1.

To the rank of professor (already had tenure):

Celesta Albonetti, sociology
Er-Wei Bai, electrical & computer engineering
Ramji Balakrishnan, accounting;
Ravikumar Balasubrahmanian, economics
Elizabeth Chrischilles, epidemiology
Jonathan Cryer, statistics & actuarial science
Robert Deschenes, biochemistry
Frank Faraci, internal medicine
Pamela Geyer, biochemistry
Jan Albert Gratama, art & art history
Henry Hoffman, otolaryngology—head & neck surgery
Michael Jones, biostatistics
Lawrence Karniski, internal medicine
Samuel Kuperman, psychiatry
Kevin Leicht, sociology
Maurita Mead, music
Kenneth Merrell, psychological & quantitative foundations
Margaret Mills, Russian
Nicholas Pantazis, anatomy & cell biology
Stephen Reynolds, occupational & environmental health
Michael Robbins, radiology
Andrew Russo, physiology & biophysics
Frederick Skiff, physics & astronomy
Milan Sonka, electrical & computer engineering
Karin Southard, orthodontics
Thomas Southard, orthodontics
Margaret Stratton, art & art history
Uriel Tsachor, music
Veronica Vieland, biostatistics
Anand Vijh, finance
Walter Vispoel, psychological & quantitative foundations
Mark Weiger, music
George Weiner, internal medicine
John Wiencek, chemical & biochemical engineering
Marc Wold, biochemistry
Hantao Zhang, computer science

To the rank of clinical professor:

Roger Ceilley, dermatology

To the rank of associate professor with tenure:

Robert Ankenmann, psychological & quantitative foundations
A. Allen Bradley, civil & environmental engineering
Micheline Chalhoub-Deville, curriculum & instruction
Daniel Clay, psychological & quantitative foundations
Deborah Cobb, operative dentistry
Corey Creekmur, English
Kennith Culp, nursing
Anne Donadey, comparative literature
William Doucette, pharmacy
David Eichmann, library & information science
David Elliott, internal medicine
Bruce Fehn, curriculum & instruction
Michael Flatte, physics & astronomy
Patricia Foster, English
Joy Hayes, communication studies
William Haynes, internal medicine
Ted Herman, computer science
Lynnea Johnson, oral pathology, radiology, & medicine
Bradley Jones, microbiology
Joel Kline, internal medicine
Michael Klepser, pharmacy
David Kusner, internal medicine
Daniel Moore, music
Joyce Moore, psychological & quantitative foundations
Alan Moy, internal medicine
Susan Murty, social work
Peggy Nopoulos, psychiatry
Johnmarshall Reeve, psychological & quantitative foundations
Richard Roller, microbiology
Jay Rubinstein, otolaryngology—head & neck surgery
Audrey Saftlas, epidemiology
Jay Sandlow, urology
Susan Schultz, psychiatry
Peter Snyder, internal medicine
Dawn Stephens, sports, health, leisure & physical studies
David Stewart, mathematics
Osnat Stramer, statistics & actuarial science
Brenda Sugrue, psychological & quantitative foundations
Russell Valentino, Russian
Catherine Woodman, psychiatry
Joseph Zabner, internal medicine

To tenure at the rank of associate professor:

Loyce Arthur, theatre arts
James Barnette, community & behavioral health
John Chaloupka, radiology
Gary Rosenthal, internal medicine
Stephen Russell, ophthalmology & visual sciences
Ge Wang, radiology
Marcia Ward, health management & policy
Christine Rutledge-Russell, music

To the rank of associate professor, clinical track:

Herbert Berger, internal medicine
Ronald Elvers, oral pathology, radiology, & medicine
Michael Kelly, pharmacy
Thomas Loew, pediatrics
John Lopez, internal medicine
Randy McDonough, pharmacy
Patricia Meredith, oral pathology, radiology, & medicine
Shane Scott, pharmacy
Joseph Truszkowski, internal medicine

To the rank of clinical associate professor:

Dan Bovenmyer, dermatology
Susan Wall, dermatology

To the rank of assistant professor, clinical track:

Mary Anne Marchik, social work