The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0073; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Sept. 3, 1999

Poets James Tate and Dara Wier read at Shambaugh Auditorium of UI library Sept. 17

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Poets James Tate and Dara Wier, faculty members of University of Massachusetts, Amherst, will give a reading of their work at 8 p.m. Friday, Sept. 17 in the Shambaugh Auditorium of the University of Iowa Main Library. Sponsored by the UI Writers' Workshop, the reading is free and open to the public.

Tate, a Pultizer Prize-winning alumnus and former faculty member of the Writers' Workshop, is the author of 13 books of poetry, including "Worshipful Company of Fletchers," which won the National Book Award; "Selected Poems," which won the Pulitzer Prize and the William Carlos Williams Award; and "The Lost Pilot," which was selected for the Yale Series of Younger Poets. He has also published a novel, "Lucky Darryl."

His other honors include a National Institute of Arts and Letters Award for Poetry, the Tanning Prize, and fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Of his poetry, Tate writes, "As a poet, I am trying to pinpoint a moment of clarity and truth in the rush of events and the cascade of memories, using all the elements and devices of language available to me"

Dara Wier has written five books of poems: "The Book of Knowledge," "All you have In Common," "The 8-Step Grape Vine," "Blood Hook and Eye" and "Blue for the Plough." A past president of Associated Writing Programs, she has taught at the University of Alabama, Hollins College, the University of Montana, the University of Utah and the University of Texas.

Wier's work has appeared in numerous magazines and anthologies, including the North American Review, the New Republic, and the American Poetry Review. In 1980 she received a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, and in 1992, a Guggenheim fellowship.