The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
2130 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8964; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: Oct. 15, 1999

School nurses attend annual conference sponsored by UI College of Nursing

(NOTE TO EDITORS: Receipt of this announcement indicates that one or more individuals from your area attended the 25th annual School Nurse Conference. A list of those who participated in the event, organized by city, follows the text of this announcement.)

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- (Name), of (City), was one of about 175 school nurses and other professionals who attended the 25th annual School Nurse Conference Sept. 30 and Oct. 1 in Iowa City. The University of Iowa College of Nursing organizes the conference each year to help school nurses stay abreast of developments in the practice of school nursing.

Topics presented at the conference included the prevention of substance abuse and other addictive behaviors, the management of students with autism and of students with behavior disorders, confidentiality issues, and the HAWK-I insurance program for Iowa school children. Conference faculty included members of the UI College of Nursing faculty, specialists from the Iowa Department of Education and local area education agencies, and others.

Following is a list of individuals who participated in the 25th annual School Nurse Conference, organized by city. Please note that some participants listed their county of residence only; they are listed separately.

(Name) is a nurse at (school or school system).


Albia Charlene Crall, Albia Community Schools; Bev Gray, North Mahaska Community Schools
Algona Ann Bormann, Lakeland Area Education Agency; Karen Garman, Algona Community School District
Armstrong Kathy Preston, Armstrong-Ringsted Community School
Bettendorf Ann Jepson, Pleasant View Elementary; Connie Kroeger, Pleasant Valley Community School
Blairsburg Judy Ose, Northeast Hamilton School
Bloomfield Leslie Kouba, Davis County Community Schools
Boone Kris Winters, Bryant/Lowel/Page Schools; Kaye Anderson, Boone Middle & High Schools
Burlington Joann Prosser, Burlington Community High School; Julie Griffin, Burlington School District
Cedar Falls Jennifer Schreiber, Tri-County Head Start; Cyd Q. Grafft, Area Education Agency-7, Special Education; Karen Adrian, Holmes Junior High School
Cedar Rapids Deb Johnson, Linn-Mar Community Schools; Judy Haefner, Linn-Mar Community Elementary Schools; Trisha Rood, Grant Wood & Erskine Elementary
Charlotte Julie Haferbier, Clinton Community Schools
Clarion Katie Stecher, Clarion-Goldfield Schools
Clinton Barbara Randolph, Northeast Community School
Coggon Dar Sodawasser, North Linn School District
Columbus Junction Sharon Della Vedova, Louisa-Muscatine Schools; Rita Adam, Columbus Community Schools
Corning Kathy Peterson, Corning Community School District
Corydon Bonnie Dudley, Wayne Community School District
Cresco Jeannie Freidhof, Notre Dame School
Danville Debbie Kennelly, Danville Community School
Decorah Krista Vanden Brink, Winneshiek County Schools; Joan Rulon, Winneshiek County Schools
Des Moines Karen Miller, Visiting Nurse Services
Dows Jean Agena, Dows Middle & Elementary Schools
Elkader Alice Reimer, Central Community Schools
Estherville Sandy Fandel, Estherville Lincoln Central Schools; Karla Lester, Estherville Lincoln Central Schools
Fairfield Rosemary Roth, Fairfield Community Schools
Fonda Sandy Wells, Newell-Fonda Community School
Fort Dodge Marie Karstens, Fort Dodge Public Schools; Mary Kitterman, Fort Dodge Public Schools; Laura L. Kersten, Fort Dodge Catholic Schools
Hawarden Ellen Johnson, Area Education Agency, Sioux Center
Humboldt Carol Gress, Algona Community School District
Independence Luci White, Independence High School
Jefferson Mary Hill, Fairfield Community Schools
Kalona Marilynn Cook, Mid Prairie Community Schools
Keokuk Kathie Duffin, Hawthorne Elementary School; Barbara Haas, Keokuk Middle School
La Porte City Gloria Thomsen, Union Community Schools
Lansing Karen C. Mathis, Eastern Allamakee Community School District
Nancy Cuvelier, Turkey Valley Community School
Lone Tree Kim Chamberlain, Highland Community School District
Maquoketa Jane Wold, Maquoketa Middle and Briggs Elementary Schools; Jane Bentrott, Cardinal Elementary School
Marathon Lisa Miller, Sioux Central Community School
Marengo Jill Svare, Iowa Valley Schools
Marshalltown Marilyn Peasley, Marshalltown High School; Kimberli J. Kelly, Franklin Elementary School
Merrill Tammy DeRocher, LeMars Community Schools
Judy Roussell, Monticello Community Schools;
Sandy Stamp, Monticello Community Schools
Muscatine Dana A. LaRue, Muscatine Community Schools; Nancy Tietge, Muscatine Community Schools
New Hampton Kathy Leonard, New Hampton Elementary & Middle Schools; Sarah Collins, New Hampton High School
New London
Janet Minnie, New London Schools
Diane Andeway, Oskaloosa Schools;
Sharon Ferguson, Southern Prairie Area Education Agency; Laurie Schelker, North Mahaska School
Ottosen Sheryl Jacobson, Humboldt Junior High School
Ottumwa Sandy Berto, SIEDA Head Start
Perry Connie Joy, Perry Community Schools
Preston Carol Atkinson, Preston Community Schools; Beth Petersen, East Central Community School
Richland Angela Maeder, SIEDA Head Start
Rockford Carol Schlader, Northern Trail Area Education Agency
Sibley Kathleen Osterman, Sibley-Ocheyedan Schools
Sigourney Janet Stichter, Keota Schools
Solon Jill Asprey, Cedar Rapids Community Schools
Spencer Margaret Nicks, Spencer Community Schools; Myrna Edmonds, Spencer Community Schools
Christine Messer, Head Start-Southeast Iowa Community Action
Spirit Lake
Claudia Nichols, Spirit Lake Community School
St. Charles Kay Hayden, Interstate 35 Community Schools
Stuart Monica Tibben, Earlham Community School
Swea City Pam Braddock, Armstrong-Ringsted Community School
Tama Linda Kaplan, Miller Middle School
Tipton Julie McBride, Tipton Community School
Traer Kym D. Kopriva, Waterloo Community School District
Victor Joan Robinson, HLV Community School
Vinton Rebecca A. Fisher, Iowa Braille & Sight Saving School
Waukee Linda Hakeman, Waukee Community School
Waukon Cathy Zahn, Allamakee Community School District
West Des Moines Liz Vriezelaar, Walnut Creek, Stilwell, Fairmeadows Schools
West Liberty
Judy Mully, West Liberty Middle and High School
Wilton Janice Telsrow, Wilton Community Schools
Winthrop Claudia Gillette, East Buchanan Community Schools

Black Hawk County Lori Rasmusson, Denver Community Schools;
JoEllen Grapp, Cedar Falls School
Dallas County
Deb Owen, Adel-De Soto-Minburn School District
Des Moines County Deb Trousil, West Burlington Schools
Fayette County Robyn Strong, Valley Community School District
Hardin County Jane Dunning, Alden Community School
Henry County Carolyn Reid, Head Start-Southeast Iowa Community Action
Howard County Sheryl Cray, Howard-Winneshiek Community School
Jasper County Barbara Kopaska, Colfax-Mingo Schools
Johnson County Carolyn Matousek, Clear Creek Amana Schools;
Doris Anderson, North Cedar Community Schools
Jones County Cathy Swinconos, Midland Community School
Lee County Jodie Langenbach, Denmark Elementary;
Teresa Groseclose, Head Start Program, Eichacker Center
Linn County Cindy Fagan, College Community School
Louisa County Lisa Meeker, Louisa County Head Start
Mahaska County Karol Little, Oskaloosa Elementary
Polk County Beverly Presnall, West Des Moines Schools
Sioux County Dorothy Mulder, Sioux Center Community Schools
Taylor County Jennifer Miller, Lenox Community Schools
Winnebago County Joan M. Krull, Lake Mills Community School
Winneshiek County Alma Meyer, South Winneshiek Schools


Bellevue Jan Stanton, Bellevue Schools


Hudson Julie Hansen, River Valley School