The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
2130 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8964; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: Oct. 15, 1999

New school nurses attend orientation sponsored by UI College of Nursing

(NOTE TO EDITORS: Receipt of this announcement indicates that one or more individuals from your area attended the recent new school nurse orientation. A list of those who participated, organized by city, follows the text of this announcement.)

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- (Name), of (city), was one of 32 school nurses who attended a new school nurse orientation Sept. 29 in Iowa City. The University of Iowa College of Nursing organizes the session each year to inform new school nurses about practice issues they will face in the school setting.

This year's session provided a broad overview of coordinated school health programs, with a special focus on school health services for students and school staff. Topics presented included immunizations, standards of care and professional performance for school nurses, students with special health needs, and setting priorities. Orientation faculty included specialists from the Iowa Department of Public Health, the Iowa Department of Education, and two regional area education agencies.

Following is a list of individuals who participated in the new school nurse orientation, organized by city. Please note that some participants listed their county or residence only; they are listed separately.

(Name) is a nurse at (school or school system).


Bettendorf: Gwen Wennlund, Paul Norton Elementary
Carlisle: Cindy Moorman, Carlisle Community Schools
Cedar Rapids: Trisha Rood, Grant Wood and Erskine Elementaries
Center Point: Susan M. Wear, Center Point-Urbana Schools
Cresco: Jeannie Freidhof, Notre Dame School
Des Moines : Patricia Cannon, Johnston Community School District
Hampton: Ann Lukensmeyer, Hampton-Dumont Community Schools
Iowa City: Lora Miller, West Liberty Elementary
Lansing: Karen C. Mathis, Eastern Allamakee Community School District
Lone Tree: Kim Chamberlain, Highland Community School District
Marshalltown: Kimberli J. Kelly, Franklin Elementary
Merrill: Tammy DeRocher, LeMars Community Schools
New Hampton: Sarah Collins, New Hampton High School
Newell: Char Jeppeson, Schaller-Crestland
Sac City: Sharon Myers, Sac Community School
Solon: Jill Asprey, Cedar Rapids Community Schools
Waukon: Cathy Zahn, Allamakee Community School District
Delaware County: Julie Wilson, Edgewood-Colesberg Community Schools
Jones County: Cathy Swinconos, Midland Community Schools
Taylor County: Jennifer Miller, Lenox Community Schools