The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us

100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0048; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: May 4, 1999

Carlson installed as UI Faculty Senate president

IOWA CITY, Iowa —Jonathan Carlson, professor of law, was installed as the new president of the University of Iowa Faculty Senate April 27. Carlson succeeds Robert Wiley, professor of pharmacy, who completed his term of office and becomes immediate past president.

Two other officers were elected at the Tuesday meeting of the Faculty Senate. Carolyn Colvin, associate professor of curriculum and instruction in the College of Education, was elected vice president for 1999-2000 and will automatically become president in 2000-01. Jean Jew, professor of anatomy, was elected secretary.

Carlson earned his bachelor’s degree from McGill University in Montreal in 1976 and his juris doctorate from the University of Chicago. He joined the faculty of the UI College of Law in 1983 as associate professor and was named full professor in 1987. He teaches courses on international business transactions, international economic relations, conflict of laws, commercial law, and criminal law.

Colvin earned her doctorate in education from the University of Nebraska at Lincoln in 1987. She came to Iowa in 1991 as assistant professor and was named associate professor in 1997. Her major areas of research are socio-political literacy in rural communities, adult and family literacy, beliefs and attitudes related to reading and writing, and relationships between reading and writing. She won an Old Gold Fellowship from the UI in 1993 and a University of Iowa Collegiate Teaching Award in 1994.

Jew earned her bachelor’s degree in biology and her medical degree from Tulane University. Following graduation from medical school in 1973, Jew came to the University of Iowa as an associate in the department of anatomy. She was appointed assistant professor of anatomy in 1974, promoted to associate professor in 1979 and to professor in 1984. She won a Collegiate Teaching Award in 1995 and was honored by the American Medical Women’s Association with its Gender Equity Award the same year.

The Faculty Senate and the Faculty Council are elected bodies through which the faculty expresses its concern for the welfare of the university, develops and disseminates ideas for university improvement, and contributes to the formation of general university policy. The Faculty Senate is the representative and deliberative organization of the faculty. The Faculty Council is the administrative agency of the Faculty Senate.