The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
2130 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8032; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: March 29, 1999

UI pharmacy alumnus Osterhaus named recipient of Humphrey award

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Robert Osterhaus, a 1952 graduate of the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy, has been named this year's recipient of the Hubert H. Humphrey Award, presented by the American Pharmaceutical Association (APhA).

Osterhaus, a member of the Iowa House of Representatives and the only practicing pharmacist currently serving in the statehouse, opened Osterhaus Pharmacy in Maquoketa in 1965. He owned and operated the business until 1989, when he sold most of his interest in the pharmacy to his son, Matt, and Matt's wife, Marilyn, both UI pharmacy graduates. Osterhaus still maintains an affiliation with the pharmacy in addition to his legislative duties.

Osterhaus has been a strong supporter of the pharmacy profession and studies that document the value of pharmaceutical services. He is an influential advocate for community pharmacy in support of pharmaceutical care in Iowa, which has resulted in some of the most advanced pharmaceutical care community practices in the United States. Pharmaceutical care refers to a form of delivery where pharmacists spend more time with patients, making assessments and consultations, identifying drug therapy problems and developing care plans.

Osterhaus served as president of the APhA from 1992-1993 and as president of the Iowa Pharmacists Association in 1983. He was a member of the Iowa Board of Pharmacy Examiners from 1972-1977 and acted as chairman from 1974-1976. Professional awards he has received include the A.H. Robins Bowl of Hygeia Award and the Iowa Distinguished Pharmacist Award, both in 1982, and the Merck Award for Outstanding Achievement in 1987. He received the UI Distinguished Alumni Award in 1997.

The Humphrey award, established in 1978, honors APhA members who have made major contributions in government and/or legislative service. The award is named after Hubert H. Humphrey, former U.S. vice president, senator and pharmacist from Minnesota.