The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
2130 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8032; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: March 25, 1999

Susan Johnson receives 1999 Jean Y. Jew Award

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Susan Johnson, M.D., associate dean for faculty affairs and professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the University of Iowa College of Medicine, has been named the recipient of the 1999 Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award.

Given annually by the UI Council on the Status of Women and the Women's Resource and Action Center, the award honors a member of the UI community who strives to improve the status of women on campus.

Johnson received her bachelor's, master's and medical degrees at the UI, and has served as a faculty member since 1980. She is recognized nationally as an expert on women's health issues and a leader in women's health research, due to her work on a wide range of topics including menopause, premenstrual syndrome, lesbian health care and ethical issues in reproductive medicine. She is an investigator for the Iowa portion of the Women's Health Initiative, a national research effort following the health of post-menopausal women in order to learn more about the causes of heart disease, cancer and osteoporosis. Johnson was named associate dean for faculty affairs at the college in 1994.

Johnson chaired a UI task force on sexual harassment, which recommended a major revision in university policy that was approved in 1986. She also was a member of the UI's task force on diversity in 1991, and the Rainbow Project task force from 1996-1997.

In 1994 and 1996, Johnson received the American Medical Women's Association Gender Equity Award from the UI student chapter of the organization.

The Jean Y. Jew Award will be presented at the "Celebration of Excellence Among Women" March 30 at the Iowa Memorial Union. The presenter will be Christine Grant, UI director of women's intercollegiate athletics and last yearÍs winner of the award.