The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0042; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: March 23, 1999

Annual tribute to women at the UI to be held March 30

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- "A Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women," the University of Iowa's annual tribute to the accomplishments of all women at the university, will be held 4 to 6 p.m. Tuesday, March 30, in the IMU Main Lounge. A reception begins at 4 p.m., followed by the awards program at 5 p.m. The program is free and open to the public.

Special presentations will include the UI Distinguished Achievement Award, which this year will be given to Barbara Stay, professor of biological sciences. Stay has been a faculty member at Iowa since 1967, conducting research on the viviparous cockroach, Diploptera punctata.

The celebration first began when the university gathered in 1982 to award the Jane A. Weiss Memorial Scholarship. This annual event has expanded in scope, recognizing outstanding scholarship, research, service, leadership and activism among undergraduate, graduate, staff, and faculty women at the UI. The celebration now also includes the awarding of the Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award, the Adele Kimm Scholarship, the Ada Johnson/Otilia Maria Fernandez Women's Studies Scholarship, and the Wynonna G. Hubbard Scholarship.

A celebration dinner follows the awards presentation at 6 p.m. Reservations are required for the dinner. Proceeds from the dinner will benefit the work of the Lactation Facilities Work Group, sponsored by the Family Services Charter Committee. A different women's group is chosen as the dinner beneficiary each year. Reservations may be made by calling 319-335-0746.

The Lactation Facilities Work Group was established in 1998 to support mothers who wish to continue breastfeeding while working or enrolled at the university. The group strives to promote a campus environment supportive of women who choose to breastfeed. Funds received from the dinner will be used to expand and enhance lactation facilities on campus. The group is sponsored by the Family Issues Charter Committee.

In addition to the Distinguished Achievement Award, the following scholarships and awards will be announced at the awards ceremony:

Adele Kimm Scholarship will be awarded to Sarah Freed, an undergraduate student majoring in American studies. The scholarship began as a bequest from Adele Kimm, in memory of her brother S. Conrad Kimm and his wife Hilda. The scholarship is awarded by the Women's Studies Program.

Ada Johnson/Otilia Maria Fernandez Fellowship will be awarded to Willene Owens-Luper, a graduate student in educational administration. The fellowship is named in honor of two Iowa graduates who are among the first African American and Latina women to be found in university records. The award is given alternate years to an undergraduate or a graduate woman student of color.

Wynonna G. Hubbard Scholarship will be awarded to Nicole Hill, an undergraduate student majoring in psychology. Established by UI Vice President Emeritus Philip G. Hubbard, in memory of his wife, the award is given each year to an African American woman with a grade-point average of 3.0 or above who demonstrates an unusual interest in the wellbeing of others.

Jean Y. Jew Women's Rights Award will be given to Susan R. Johnson, M.D., associate dean for faculty affairs in the College of Medicine and professor of obstetrics and gynecology. The award is named for Jean Y. Jew, professor of anatomy, who fought an uphill battle for more than a decade to defend herself against slander and sexual harassment from faculty in her department, a struggle that she ultimately won. Given annually by the Council on the Status of Women and the Women's Resource and Action Center, the award honors a faculty, staff, or student member of the university community who has demonstrated an outstanding effort or achievement in improving the status of women on campus.

University sponsors of "A Celebration of Excellence and Achievement Among Women" are the Associate Provost for Health Sciences; Associated University Women; Central Mail System; College of Engineering Administration; College of Medicine, Council on the Status of Women; the Departments of Computer Science, Internal Medicine, Microbiology, Physiology and Biophysics, Sociology, and Theatre Arts; Finance and University Services; Graduate College; IMU Catering; Information Technology Services; Mary Hendrix, anatomy and cell biology; Office of Affirmative Action; Office of the President; Office of the Provost; Office of the Vice President for Research; Opportunity at Iowa; Pre-Vocational Training Program; Printing Department; School of Religion; University Libraries; Women in Science and Engineering; and Women's Resource and Action Center.

An American Sign Language interpreter will sign the awards ceremony. Babysitting may be provided by volunteers. Please call the Women's Resource and Action Center for more information, 335-1486, by Friday, March 26.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all UI-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires an accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Wendy Brown in advance at 335-0557.