The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0058; fax (319) 384-0024
email :

Release: July 14, 1999

Local student receives UI Opportunity at Iowa scholarship

IOWA CITY, Iowa — (NAME) of (HOMETOWN) is one of 64 University of Iowa incoming freshmen to receive an Opportunity at Iowa Scholarship for the 1999-2000 academic year. (Name) is a graduate of (HIGH SCHOOL). The award is $5,000 per year or $20,000 over four years.

Opportunity at Iowa, established in 1987, reaffirms the UI's conviction that the best universities include people from the broadest spectrum of backgrounds, cultures, viewpoints and disciplines. Opportunity at Iowa encourages and coordinates the recruitment of under-represented faculty and students with a variety of scholarship, outreach, mentoring and academic programs.

EDITORS: Receipt of this release indicates a student from your circulation area has been chosen to receive a UI Opportunity at Iowa Scholarship. Students are listed alphabetically by hometown, with Iowa residents first. The list includes the recipient’s name and high school.


AMES: Daniel Fernandez-Baca, Ames Sr High School
BLUE GRASS: Alana Svensen, West High School
BROOKLYN: Jason Korns, Bgm Community High School
CEDAR RAPIDS: John Aminzay, George Washington High School; Joseph Avila, George Washington High School; Chris De La Mater, Washington High School; Catherine Squires, George Washington High School
CLINTON: Stephanie Demarr, Clinton High School; Christina Martinez, Clinton High School
DAVENPORT: Roslynn Phillips, North High School
DES MOINES: Jonathon Howell, Herbert Hoover High School; Alejandra Rocha, East High School; Grace White, Roosevelt High School
FORT MADISON: Alena Martinez, Aquinas High School
HARLAN: Ben Hall, Harlan Community High School
HAZLETON: Jacob Lujan, Oelwein High School
IOWA CITY: Nancy Selim, West High School
JOHNSTON: Cindy Loffler, Johnston High School
LONG GROVE: Robert Warren, North Scott High School
MUSCATINE: Joe Manriquez, Muscatine High School
NORWALK: Necole Streeper, Norwalk Community High School
SIOUX CITY: Travis Hanson, West High School
ST. CHARLES: Shannon Hand, Martensdale-St Marys Community High School
TOLEDO: Joshua Davenport, South Tama High School; Justin Davenport, South Tama High School
WEST DES MOINES: Timothy Wilson, Dowling High School


SAN FRANCISCO: Darly Jackson, Cactus High School


ARVADA: Patrick Bowen, Arvada High School


ANDALUSIA: Diana Ruiz, Rockridge High School
BERWYN: Saidy Waight, Js Morton High School West
CALUMET CITY: Crystal Braboy, Thornwood High School
CARY: Amanda Fontanez, Cary-Grove Community High School
CHICAGO: Crystal Foster, Il Math & Science Academy; Juan Garcia, Loyola Academy; Patricia Gonzalez, Whitney M Young Magnet High School; Lynette Head, Percy L Julian High School; Joshua Jones, Kenwood Academy; Andrea Lewis, Whitney M Young Magnet High School
DEKALB: Elizabeth Homan, Dekalb High School; Matthew Umoren, Dekalb High School
FLOSSMOOR: Darice Irons, Homewood-Flossmoor High School
HAWTHORN WOODS: Kristi Gonzales, Lake Zurich Sr High School
KANKAKEE: Krista Kohl, Bishop Mcnamara High School
LA GRANGE PARK: Nicole Rogowski, Lyons Township High School N
LA HARPE: Teri Duffie, La Harpe High School
LIBERTYVILLE: Diana Dilger, Libertyville High School
RICHTON PARK: Katherine Galvan, Rich South High School
ROCK ISLAND: Erica Guldenzopf, Rock Island High School
SCHAUMBURG: Daniel Rodriguez, Hoffman Estates High School
SKOKIE: Ellenmarie Robinson, Evanston Township High School
SOUTH HOLLAND: Emily Springer, Mother Mcauley High School
WHEATON: Chellena Ellerman, Wheaton North High School
WHEELING: Jesus Rodriguez, Wheeling High School
WOODRIDGE: Anthony Navickas, Community High School Dist 99 North


ELKRIDGE: Genevieve Schrier, Long Reach High School


LAS VEGAS: Shawn Iden, Home School


BROOKLYN: Kristen Poprilo, Brooklyn Technical High School


DORADO: Jose Ruiz, Dorado Academy


AGENCY VILLAGE: Sean Contreras, Tiospa Zina Tribal School
VERMILLION: Francisca Flores, Vermillion High School


BRYAN: Marcos Esparza, Bryan High School
DESOTO: Abigail Graham, Desoto High School


MILWAUKEE: Nikolas Francis, Nicolet High School
WAUWATOSA: Karoline Bakemeyer, Wauwatosa East High School