The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

High school students honored at annual science symposium

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Five student presenters at the 37th Annual Iowa Junior Science and Humanities Symposium (JSHS) held Feb. 19-20 at the University of Iowa earned a trip to the National JSHS in San Diego, Calif. and a $500 scholarship to the UI.

The symposium was hosted by the UI Secondary Student Training Office for 280 Iowa high school students and teachers.

Carol Fassbinder of Valley Community Schools, Elgin, took first place with her presentation, "Perillyl Acetate and Other Monoterpenoids as Possible Controls for the Varroa jacobsoni, a Destructive Honeybee Mite," earning a $4,000 scholarship to a college of her choice. She will present her paper at the National JSHS to be held May 13-16. Fassbinder will compete with 47 other student researchers for a chance to participate at the World Symposium in London to receive either the London International Youth Science Fortnight Award or Academy scholarships totaling more than $100,000.

Fassbinder's science teacher, Marty Berda, will be awarded $500 to be used for books, supplies or equipment.

The other finalists are: Ashwin Srinivas, Fort Dodge Senior High School, who placed second with "Development of a Surface-Acoustic-Wave Microsensor Array for the Detection of Perchloroethylene in Drinking Water"; and, in alphabetical order, Katherine Ann Homan, West Des Moines Valley High School, "Analysis of the Crystallinity and Selectivity of Poly(vinyl alcohol) Membranes"; Imelda R. Turner, Iowa City West High School, "Orbital Algorithm for Space Station Intercepts;" and Anna Wilhelm, West Central High School of Stuart, "Bacillus Thuringiensis: Comparing Effectiveness of Full-Length and Truncated CRY1F Protein Toxin."

The Junior Science and Humanities Symposia Program has been held for more than three decades by the U.S. Department of the Army, the Office of Naval Research, the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, and by the Academy of Applied Science, Inc.