The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0011; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

Five UI professors named Faculty Scholars

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- Five University of Iowa faculty members have received 1999 Faculty Scholar awards to pursue research. Faculty Scholars are released from half their usual teaching, advising, administrative, and service obligations for three consecutive years. The award takes the form of a developmental assignment for one semester each year.

The 1999 recipients and their areas of research are:

Mark S. Blumberg, associate professor of psychology, who will study the developmental origins of thermoregulation and thermal preference in mammals, birds, and reptiles.

Johna Leddy, associate professor of chemistry, who will develop theoretical models of magnetic effects on rates of heterogeneous electron transfer and test the models experimentally.

Florin Radulescu, professor of mathematics, who will work on relations between random matrices in von Newmann algebras and the operator algebras associated with quantization theory.

Leslie Schwalm, associate professor of history, who will write a book that explores northern involvement in the movement for and against the emancipation of slaves by focusing on Iowa and its neighboring states.

David G. Stern, associate professor of philosophy, who will complete the second and draft the third of a three-book series to clarify the nature of Wittgenstein's contribution to philosophy and his importance for the next century.