The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0009; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: Immediate

UI inducts five new members into Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy

IOWA CITY, Iowa -- The University of Iowa College of Engineering will induct five new members into its Distinguished Engineering Alumni Academy between 10 a.m. and noon Saturday, February 27 as a part of National Engineers' Week (Feb. 21-27) at the Levitt Center for University Advancement in Iowa City.

The five, who will be honored at the College's fourth annual induction ceremony for their contributions toward personal engineering achievement, leadership, and service to the profession and society, are James C.I. Dooge, L.D. McMullen, William B. Morgan, Jin Wu and Chen-Hsing Yen.

Dooge, who received his master of science degree in mechanics and hydraulics from the University of Iowa in 1956, is a consultant hydrologist for the engineering hydrology department at University College of Galway and professor emeritus at the Center for Water Resources Research, University College of Dublin, Dublin, Ireland. A founding father of modern computer-based, statistical hydrology, he also had a long and varied career in politics. His 1961-77 service as senator included helping rewrite the Irish Constitution. He was minister of foreign affairs, 1981-83, and senate majority leader, 1983-87. In 1986, he received the Bowie Medal from the American Geophysical Union and has received honorary doctorates from the universities of Waeningen (Holland), Lund (Sweden), and Birmingham (England), as well as from the University of Dublin.

L.D. McMullen received his bachelor of science degree in civil engineering in 1968 and his master's and doctorate in environmental engineering in 1972 and 1975, respectively, from the University of Iowa. A native of Cresco, he is the CEO and general manager of the Des Moines Water Works. During the Midwestern Floods of 1993, he and his staff received nationwide attention for their engineering accomplishments in restoring drinking water to Des Moines. He is a recipient of the Iowa Engineering Society's Outstanding Public Service , Engineer of the Year, and Voice of the Engineer awards. In April 1998, he completed a four-year term as chair of the UI College of Engineering Advisory Board. Currently an executive board member of the UI Alumni Association, he is scheduled to serve as president of the organization's board of directors for 1999-2000.

William B. Morgan, who received his master of science degree in mechanics and hydraulics in 1951, is the head of the Hydromechanics Directorate, Carderock Division (David Taylor Model Basin), Naval Surface Warfare Center, Washington, D.C. Morgan earned a doctorate in Naval Architecture from the University of California, Berkley in 1961 and has spent virtually his entire career at the center. In his current position since 1979, he is responsible for all hydromechanic research concerning U.S. Navy ships and submarines. In addition to improving propeller design methods and testing techniques with regard to cavitation noise, he led the design effort for the new SEAWOLF propulsion system. Morgan also led the development of the large cavitation water tunnel in Memphis which, since 1991, has made possible great advances in ship design. Morgan's achievements were recognized by his 1992 induction into the National Academy of Engineering and his 1997 awarding of the Gibbs Borthers Medal by the National Academy of Science.

Jin Wu received his master's degree in 1961 and his doctorate in 1964, both in mechanics and hydraulics from the University of Iowa. Wu has served as Education Minister, and in 1994 he was named president of National Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan, Republic of China. He previously served as H. Fletcher Brown Professor of Marine Studies and Civil Engineering at the University of Delaware from 1980 until 1994. In 1995, he was inducted into the National Academy of Engineering.

Chen-Hsing Yen received his master's degree in 1938 and his doctorate in 1941, both in mechanics and hydraulics from the University of Iowa. He currently serves as Senior Advisor to the President, Taipei, Taiwan, Republic of China. After completing his Iowa education, he returned to China to teach and lead construction work on the Burma Road. After moving with his government to Taiwan in 1949, he was appointed chief engineer of the Kaoshiung Harbor Bureau. In 1957, he resumed his career in education, which included serving as president of National Chen King University, National Tsing Hua University, and National Taiwan University. During his 24-year tenure as Taiwan's Education Minister, he extended the country's period of compulsory education from six to nine years and established professional junior colleges. In 1992, his peers elected him to the Academia Sinica in recognition of his engineering research.

The 1999 induction ceremony, hosted by Theta Tau, National Professional Engineering Fraternity, brings the Academy's membership to 28.