The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us
2130 Medical Laboratories
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 335-8032; fax (319) 335-8034

Release: Dec. 7, 1999

Local UI student receives master's degree in physical therapy

IOWA CITY, Iowa — (Student name), (daughter/son) of (parents), recently completed the Master of Physical Therapy (M.P.T.) Program at the University of Iowa. (Student name) holds a bachelor's degree from (college/university). (He/She) was one of 35 students recognized by the UI Physical Therapy Program at convocation ceremonies held Nov. 20.

The convocation address, "Health Care: An Unfinished Symphony," was delivered by Richard Shields, associate professor of physical therapy. Class representatives speaking at the event were Colin Mattiace and Mavis Miller, while Jason Putz served as the master of ceremonies.

Some 1,493 individuals have graduated since the program's inception in 1942. Completion of the M.P.T. Program makes (student) eligible to take the state licensing examination necessary to practice physical therapy.

This year, the UI program was ranked fourth in U.S. News and World Report's rankings of "America's Best Graduate Programs."

(EDITORS: Graduates are listed below alphabetically by hometown, beginning with Iowa recipients.)


Anamosa: Kristina Kae Plueger; Mr. and Mrs. Mike Plueger; University of Northern Iowa

Britt: Brenda C. Kjellberg; Mr. and Mrs. Roger Kjellberg; University of Iowa

Burt: Kathryn A. Doege Pilch; Wilbur and Gladys Doege; Buena Vista College

Carroll: Kelly Jean Spieler; Jerry and Jeanne Spieler; University of Northern Iowa

Cascade: Krista Marie Casey; Pat and Sharon Casey; Central College

Cedar Rapids: Amber Lynn Dostal; Steve and Nancy Miller; University of Northern Iowa; Colin Michael Mattiace; Mick and Mary Kay Mattiace; University of Iowa; Jason John Putz; Lawrence Putz; Iowa State University; Bethany Michele Taylor; Mr. and Mrs. Gregory Taylor; University of Northern Iowa

Clarion: Michelle Denise Mraz; Dennis and Kristine Mraz; Iowa State University

Decorah: Scott Eric Dickman; Dwight and Darlys Dickman; University of Northern Iowa; Devin Jace Johnson; Mr. and Mrs. Davis Johnson; Luther College

Des Moines: Johanna C. Day; Dennis and Clara Day; Buena Vista College

DeWitt: Mary Anne Fratianni; Mr. and Mrs. James Judge; University of Iowa

Dubuque: Andrew Thomas Fessler; Mr. and Mrs. Robert V. Fessler; Loras College; Dianna Marie Hanson; Mr. and Mrs. Robert Wirzbach; Iowa State University

Fort Dodge: Michele Marie McColley; Mr. and Mrs. Michael McColley; University of Northern Iowa

Gowrie: Matthew David Erb; Dean P. Erb and Shirley Erb; University of Iowa

Harlan: Kenyon Michael DeHaan; Michael and Mary DeHaan; Buena Vista College

Hornick: Michelle Margaret Herbst; Mr. and Mrs. Darrell Edward Carr; Morningside College

Lawler: Chris James Fisher; Mr. and Mrs. Dean Fisher; Luther College

LeMars: Janice Kay Schmitz; Marie Schmitz and the late Gordon Schmitz; Morningside College

Maquoketa: Dabney Ellen Larson; Doug and Diana Larson; University of Iowa

Marion: Theresa M. Alt; Michael and Sandra Alt; Wartburg College; Stephanie Rae Willis; Dean and Rachel Willis; University of Iowa

Milo: Julie Beth Weeks; Gerald and Linda Weeks; Iowa Wesleyan College

Orange City: Kay Lynn Pals Joiner; Pete and Helen Pals; Northwestern College

Tipton: Christie Ann Vogelgesang; Dave and Judy Vogelgesang; Drake University

Urbandale: Tasha Lee Reents Mulligan; Byron and Rose Reents; University of Iowa

Webster City: Pauley Melinda Reveiz; Ed and Paulette Reveiz; University of Iowa


Wamego: Ann Marie Riat; Mr. and Mrs. James Riat; Kansas State University


Carrington: Mavis Joy Miller; Mr. and Mrs. Wallace Miller; Concordia College


American Fork: Brent Raymond Rawlings; Elaine Rawlings; Brigham Young University