The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0012; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: April 29, 1999

UI faculty promotions approved by Board of Regents, State of Iowa

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The Board of Regents, State of Iowa recently approved promotions and/or tenure for 85 members of the University of Iowa faculty.

The following faculty and adjunct faculty have been promoted for the 1999-2000 academic year:

To the rank of professor (already had tenure):
Thomas L. Casavant, electrical and computer engineering
Kung-Sik Chan, statistics and actuarial science
Jeffrey L. Conklin, internal medicine
Elizabeth H. Field, internal medicine
Weimin Han, mathematics
Marion R. Johnson, nursing
William T. Johnson, family dentistry
Tim A. Judge, management and organizations
Jeffrey A. Kern, internal medicine
Karl J. Kreder, Jr., urology
Ellen Lewin, women’s studies/anthropology
Yi Li, mathematics
Kathi C. Madison, dermatology
Joseph Piven, psychiatry
Paul R. Pomrehn, Jr., preventive medicine and environmental health
Wayne E. Richenbacher, surgery
Gary J. Russell, marketing
Thomas J. Schmidt, physiology and biophysics
Nancy L. Sprince, preventive medicine and environmental health/internal medicine
Vincent C. Traynelis, surgery
John S. Westefeld, psychological and quantitative foundations
Yangbo Ye, mathematics

To tenure at the rank of professor:
Kevin S. Berbaum, radiology
Gary V. Doern, pathology
Ray P.S. Han, mechanical engineering
Michael J. Kolen, psychological and quantitative foundations

To the rank of professor with tenure:
Garry R. Buettner, radiology
Marcella David, law
Mark D. Janis, law
Margaret Raymond, law

To the rank of associate professor with tenure:
Michael J. Acarregui, pediatrics
Nikolai O. Artemyev, physiology and biophysics
Nancy M. Bauman, otolaryngology–head and neck surgery
Eric A. Brandser, radiology
Jiun-Shyan Chen, mechanical engineering
Joseph J. Cullen, surgery
Michael P. D’Alessandro, radiology
Frederick E. Domann, Jr., radiology
Jean O. Donham, library and information science
Armando Duarte, dance
Michael E. Everson, curriculum and instruction
Sarah Farmer, history
Frederick D. Goldman, pediatrics
Scott M. Graham, otolaryngology–head and neck surgery
John T. Harty, microbiology
Jian Huang, statistics and actuarial science
Gerald J. Jogerst, family medicine
Chuanren Ke, Asian languages and literature
Barcey T. Levy, family medicine
Tong Li, mathematics
Judith Liskin-Gasparro, Spanish and Portuguese
Ann Marie McCarthy, nursing
Sue Ann P. Moorhead, nursing
Judith M. Pascoe, English
Phillip Round, English
Janine A. Sawada, religion Scott R. Schnell, anthropology
Scott P. Stuart, psychiatry/psychology
Colby C. Swan, civil and environmental engineering
Christie P. Thomas, internal medicine
Judith E. Voelkl, sports, health, leisure and physical studies
Lois S. Weisman, biochemistry
Kathryn F. Whitmore, curriculum and instruction
Mitsuhiro Yoshimoto, Asian languages and literature/comparative literature

To tenure at the rank of associate professor
David S. Bates, finance
Carolyn Brown, speech pathology and audiology
John C. Cameron, theatre arts
Tadeu Coelho, music
Jane Desmond, American studies/women’s studies
Kristi J. Ferguson, preventive medicine and environmental health
M. Alison Ford, theatre art
Craig Kletzing, physics and astronomy
X. Sheldon Lin, statistics and actuarial science
Roberta M. Marvin, music
Scott E. Page, economics
Thomas A. Rietz, finance
Linda G. Snetselaar, preventive medicine and environmental health/internal medicine
Milan Sonka, electrical and computer engineering
H. John Yack, physical therapy

To the rank of associate professor, clinical track
Sue Ann Barcellos, neurology
Mark A. Granner, neurology
Kim Jean Overby, pediatrics
Scott A. Vogelgesang, internal medicine

To the rank of adjunct associate professor
Richard R. Murphy, preventive medicine and environmental health

To the rank of clinical assistant professor
Nidal H. Harb, internal medicine