The University of Iowa
The University of Iowa News Services Home News Releases UI in the News Subscribe to UI News Contact Us


100 Old Public Library
Iowa City IA 52242
(319) 384-0010; fax (319) 384-0024

Release: April 29, 1999

UI Honors Program announces Rhodes Dunlap Scholarship winners

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The University of Iowa’s Honors Program recently announced the recipients of the Rhodes Dunlap scholarships, which are awarded annually to undergraduate Honors students in recognition of their academic achievement.

The awards, which carry a $2,000 stipend, received their namesake from Samuel Rhodes Dunlap, the founder of the UI’s Honors Program. Dunlap served as the director of the Honors Program from 1958 to 1981.

EDITOR’S NOTE: Receipt of this release indicates that a student from your readership area was named a Rhodes Dunlap scholar. Students are listed alphabetically by their hometowns with Iowa students listed first.

Below is a list of this year’s recipients:


ALTOONA: Scott Thomson, a junior management information systems major
AMES: Buffy Quintero, a junior art major
CARLISLE: Jessica Fee, a senior business major
CLIVE: Joseph Dilley, a sophomore psychology major
CORALVILLE: Lisbeth Avakian, a senior psychology major
DES MOINES: Emily Shelton, a senior economics major
DUBUQUE: Jennifer Carr, a sophomore religion major
FORT DODGE: Wendy Otto, a junior nursing major
IOWA CITY: Cecilia Cornejo, a junior communication studies major; Ali Djalali, a junior chemistry major; Catherine Strang, a junior music and anthropology major; Emily Wynes, a sophomore history major; Michael Brownlee, a junior pharmacy major; Scott Ocheltree, a senior pharmacy major
KNOXVILLE: Amy Blair, a sophomore biology major; Stephen Maldonado, a sophomore psychology major
MARION: Marsha McConnell, a senior nursing major
MUSCATINE: Merideth Bentley, a sophomore global studies major; Veronica Green, a junior religion major
WAUKEE: Olivia Bailey, a junior double major in biology and psychology
WATERLOO: Carrie Farrell, a senior French and elementary education major

The following students from outside of Iowa also received Rhodes Dunlap scholarships:


DUNLAP: Angie Klintworth, a sophomore journalism and mass communications major
HINSDALE: Corinne Stashuk, a senior English and elementary education major
MOUNT PROSPECT: Alisha Crowe, a senior Latin and Spanish double major


PRAIRIE VILLAGE: Jane Beachy, a sophomore Theatre Arts and Anthropology major


EDEN PRAIRIE: Patrick Durgin, a junior English major